#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 64: LOVE’S SACRIFICE

flash fic 64

This is for week sixty-four of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. I love comments, so don’t be shy!!! Enjoy!

LOVE’S SACRIFICE (156 words)

The sky was as dark as Callista’s mood. Fate awaited her. At dawn her body would belong to the sea and the beast that threatened her people.

Liam joined her on the cliff’s edge, the wind whipping his cloak. “You wished to see me?”

“I wanted to say goodbye.” Callista placed her wind-bitten hands on his face, stubble scratching her palms. Tears brimmed in her eyes, and the fierce winds swept them away. She loved him. Her lips pressed into his, one last kiss to last a lifetime. One last touch. One last heartbeat.

Liam pulled away. “Will you not rethink this?”

“As ruler, this is my sacrifice.”

“I know.” Liam stroked Callista’s hair. “I don’t know how I’ll go on without you.”

“I had the same thought.” With the stealth of a dark knight, Callista slipped a dagger into him and shoved his body over the edge—her sacrifice of love to the beast below.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

