#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 91: A GENTLEMAN’S PRISON

flash-fic-91

This is for week ninety-one of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

This prompt made me think of Downton Abbey, I was actually tempted to make myself a cup of tea. I got stuck about 3/4 of the way through this challenge, but I managed to finish. I hope I came away with an interesting ending. How do you feel about Everett’s perspective on his life?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

A GENTLEMAN’S PRISON (157 words)

The kitchen maid screamed and cursed as the head butler dumped her on the street. Everett couldn’t look away. Cheeks flushed and eyes bright like silver flashed at him.

“Everett, that’s ungentlemanly,” Aunt Millie chastised.

Everett released the curtain and stepped back into the tea room. “May I be excused?”

Before his aunt conceded, he walked briskly into the hall and out the back door. If he hurried he could catch her. In the alley, the maid crossed his path.

“Penny.”

She looked up, her copper curls wild. “Master Everett, here to ask me back?”

Everett shook his head. “I need your help.”

“It’ll cost you.”

“How much?”

“Not how much. What?” Penny grinned. “I want you to take me to the debutante ball.”

With a dress, Penny would be stunning, but her etiquette wouldn’t get her past society’s door.

Everett sighed. “Fine. But in return I want what you have.”

Penny’s brow furrowed. “Poverty?”

“No. Freedom.”

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 91: A GENTLEMAN’S PRISON

  1. I loved this Vanessa! I am sure that children from the “wealthy” families felt imprisoned by all the rules that “society” put on them. Penny’s life would feel like heaven (even though she lived in poverty). Great story!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    Nice take, we always want what others have. Maybe together they will get the best of both worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    Hmmm a fair trade I think. Maybe they can help each other. Great write!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

