#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 58: OBLIVION

flash-fic-58This is for week fifty-eight of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

So it’s actually been a long time since I’ve done flash fiction. I’m attempting to make an effort and catch up and write some just for me. I’m hoping this will inspire a little bit with my current work. If you want to join in, here’s a link to the current week’s flash fiction challenge. I’ve enjoyed this group in the past, and I hope to add a couple of flash fiction posts a few times a week.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

OBLIVION (169 words)

The portal pulsated with a power like Vale had never known. Like a blue fire, hot and cold, blustery yet icy.

“We have to close it,” Dahlia called over the roar of energy. “Before it sucks our world into it.”

“We don’t have much time.” Wind whipped around Vale’s head, tossing his long dark hair in a swirling rage. “Any ideas?”

“You’re the chosen one—thought you’d have some tricks up your sleeve.” Dahlia grinned. Vale had come to like her over the course of their journey. Maybe too much.

“I’m all out of tricks.” The air around them became heavy, dragging small objects towards the portal. Vale did have one last trick—one he’d hoped he wouldn’t have to use. But he didn’t have a choice. “Here hold this.”

“Your sword? But…” Dahlia’s mouth hung open. “You can’t.”

“But I will.” And with a single step in front of the portal, Vale’s body was sucked into it, his body disappearing into the blue hole, closing the portal forever.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 58: OBLIVION

  1. Wonderful story! I was thinking that Vale wanted Dahlia to follow him through the portal but I guess not since it closed forever once he went through. Sad, yet exciting! If you link this story up to the InLinkz board a lot more people will be able to read it. I use to be able to help people link up but I am not able to do that anymore. The pingbacks no longer give me the URL.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

