#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 53: THE MISTAKE

flash fic 53

This is for week fifty-three of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

It’s Sunday and I’m finally glad I have some time to catch up on my blog. Especially the flash fiction. I’d struggled with this prompt weeks ago but today I think I have something that most can relate to. Have you ever made a mistake when it came to love?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

THE MISTAKE (153 words)

Jenner’s sneakers pounded the stone walkway, water lapping at his soles. This was Gabriela’s and his spot. Why did he have to torture himself? He’d been the one to end it—a mistake. Then someone bumped him, and he stumbled ankle deep into the incoming tide.

“What the—” Jenner spat. “…Gabi?”

“You need to stop coming here. You’re ruining my workouts.”
“I can’t stop thinking about you.”

“Being here won’t help.”

Even with the scowl on her face and the fact she’d never forgive him, he wanted to drag her into his arms. Jenner memorized her brown eyes and the red in her dark hair that shone in the sun.

“I know,” he said.

Surprise softened Gabriela’s face.

“I deserve to be miserable. For that I will come here to remember us even if it pains me. Just so I’ll never have to let you go.”

“Jenner…” Gabriela studied him. “Come home.”

 

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

 

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 53: THE MISTAKE

  1. I love this! Great happy ending! You certainly are a master at love stories, Vanessa.

    Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

