#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 55: HEARTBREAKER

flash fic 55

via Pixabay.com

This is for week fifty-five of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

This prompt was more fun than I expected. I love a good contemporary romance that has strong characters. A woman that’s not so easily won over and an overly confident man who’s put in his place. Every man should have to fight for the woman he wants…don’t you agree? 😉

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

 

HEARTBREAKER (160 words)

Bruce ended the heartfelt encore then the stage darkened. Women’s cheers and applause erupted.

Once off stage, his bandmate asked, “Did you see the hottie in row A?”

“Nah, you know groupies aren’t my thing.” But how could Bruce miss her? She wasn’t the usual type to come to his concerts. Back in his early days as Blue Desire’s lead singer, there was a different girl every night. Now Bruce was different. Still his mind couldn’t erase the gray-eyed girl.

Once the crowds cleared, he said goodnight to his crew and stopped at a 24-hour diner.

“Patti melt. Coffee. To go,” he called to the kitchen employee. When the girl from the concert peeked through the order window his heart faltered. “And your number.”

“I don’t date rockers,” she said.

“I’m just a guy ordering a sandwich.”

“Don’t believe you.”

“I’ll prove it. I’ll be back tomorrow. And the next night, and the next.” Bruce grinned. “Until you say yes.”

 

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 55: HEARTBREAKER

  1. Kind of a nice tale. Maybe it’s just me, but I didn’t see him as overly confident, but someone willing to put everything aside to just spend some time with a girl that really has taken hold of him. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Thanks for reading. This is what I love about comments. Perspective on how a character comes across. Perhaps, he is a changed man and he’s nothing like she thinks he is. I think it’s so important that characters are likable or at the least have redeeming qualities.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rogershipp says:

    A risk taker! Hope he wins. And then I hope she was worth it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    Cute story. I hope his persistence is because he actually wants to get to know her and date her, not just for sex.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. afairymind says:

    I hope he manages to win her in the end and that it’s a meaningful relationship for them both. 🙂 Sweet story.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope he is in it for a good relationship and not to toy with her emotions.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. luckyjc007 says:

    He knows what he likes and he’s not going to give up. Some people just know, and it really does work out. My sister’s husband did that very same thing…they have been married for 58 years now. Love your story. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

