#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 52: THE MATCHMAKER

flash fic 52

This is for week fifty-two of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

This prompt was fun! By the time I got to the end of the story it kind of twisted right out from under me. I wanted to do something magical and dark, but I like that the ending could be both good or bad, depends on your perspective. What do you think?

Also I’m running a book giveaway for my one-year blog-iversary, so if you’re interested in joining in, there’s a link at the end of this post. Thanks in advance!

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

THE MATCHMAKER (155 words)

Hilary stared at the dilapidated bench in Milton Park—she didn’t believe a word Willa said.

“It happened for Lily, Marisol, and even Gerdy.”

Hilary shook her head. “You don’t meet the man you’ll marry because of a creepy bench.”

Willa shrugged. “I haven’t tried it—I don’t want to marry yet.”

Hilary rolled her eyes, hurrying Willa to work. But when Hilary passed the bench, she couldn’t help thinking it might be true. What did he look like? Would she fall in love with him?

One afternoon she sat on it in the empty park on the way to her parents’ for dinner. The wood creaked beneath her weight, but nothing happened. She laughed at herself.

When she arrived at her parents’ her mother dragged her into the kitchen. “I have a good feeling about this one.”

“Mom…?”

“Your father invited his boss’s son to dinner. And he’s single,” she said with a wink.

 

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

Like my writing? I’m giving away a collection of stories that one of my short stories is published in and a bonus book from a fellow author. Check it out here!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Publications, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 52: THE MATCHMAKER

  1. How cute! I love it! She sat on the bench and now is meeting her mother’s boss’ son. Hmmm, I think love is in the air. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    She will soon find out if it worked for her. It was certainly worth a try! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

