#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 51: WINNING HER HEART

flash fic 51

This is for week fifty-one of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

My story this week has nothing to do with a car, but colors played a large part for me. I had a little trouble setting the time period. Something like Seabiscuit came to mind for me, but this piece could easily be set in contemporary times. I usually try to keep with a romantic theme, but it kind of got away from me on this one. What I do love about it is, sometimes this don’t always go the way we planned, but sometimes for the better. Has this ever happened to you?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

WINNING HER HEART (158 words)

Blue, go. C’mon, Blue…

The thunder of horse shoes pounded the race track as horses and jockeys flew past Carina. She’d bet everything on Blue Storm. Her new life depended on it. No more backbreaking job. No more pathetic town. No more loser boyfriend.

Carina tensed before the horses crossed the finish line with Blue Storm in the lead.

“Yes! I won!”

Life never felt so good. Carina collected her winnings and decided to thank the special someone who changed her life. But when she reached Blue’s stall, a veterinarian stood over him grim-faced.

“It’s broken,” he told Blue’s trainer. “He’ll never race the same.”

After the veterinarian left, Carina asked to see Blue.

“You can have him,” the trainer laughed.

“What will you do with him?”

“He’s worthless.”

Carina’s heart broke. She thought about the cash in her purse. How much would it cost to care for Blue? Then she nodded. “If he’s free, I’ll take him.”

 

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 51: WINNING HER HEART

  1. I hope she got it free.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This goes to show how our plans can change in an instant. I love this story because she is willing to save this horse they deem to be worthless. Wonderful story, Vanessa! It tugged at my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. luckyjc007 says:

    She has a caring heart. He helped her and now she is helping him. He doesn’t have to race again to be good horse and I’m sure she will give him plenty of loving care. Wonderful story.😃

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

