#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 47: ‘TIL DEATH DO US PART

flash fic 47

This is for week forty-seven of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

I struggled to find some inspiration from this picture. I wanted to dig a little deeper than something medical based. But I think I came away with something that included both. The story is sorrowful, but I believe there’s something to take away from it.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

‘TIL DEATH DO US PART (156 words)

It wouldn’t be long before the great Lord took Ginny away. Her body was weak long before its time, and her vibrant blue eyes were dull as a gray sky.

Bruce clutched her hand. “You won’t suffer much longer.”

“Thank you,” Ginny whispered. “You deserved so much more—loving me to the end.” Ginny closed her eyes, her breath becoming shallow.

“It’ll be soon,” the doctor said, patting Bruce’s shoulder. “I’m sorry for your loss.” Then he left.

Ginny’s father sat on the other side of the bed holding her other hand. Ginny’s breaths lessened and as the hour passed, she took her final one.

Bruce broke into tears.

“I made my peace years ago. I never thought she’d live long enough to love.”

“I’m sorry,” Bruce sobbed.

“For what?”

“I didn’t love her. I only stayed because she was sick.”

“That’s where you’re wrong, son. Because you stayed, you loved her more than any man.”

 

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 47: ‘TIL DEATH DO US PART

  1. It seems sad to me that he would confess to her father that he didn’t love her. I loved what the father said to him. Excellent story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    I think there are all kinds of love. I believe he loved her in his own way…that’s why he stayed by her side to the end, but he was not… In Love …with her. Excellent story.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

