#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 50: THE SUNFLOWER DANCE

flash fic 50

This is for week fifty of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired. A big congratulations to Priceless Joy for keeping this blog going and reaching the big 50! What an inspiration. You haven’t joined, you should 😉

This post ended up more fun than I thought….it could also be I’ve been watching too much Downton Abbey, lol. I wasn’t really sure where it was going, but I loved how it ended. I have a soft spot for secret love and love that blossoms from friendship. Have you ever experienced that?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

THE SUNFLOWER DANCE (153 words)

Christopher. Peter. Eduardo. Michael…

Delilah smiled at the sunflowers she named. “One of you would marry me.”

“Speaking to the garden again?”

Delilah turned to find Jacques walking down the row.

“They listen to me.”

“I listen to you.” He grinned.

Delilah sighed. “That’s the only thing you don’t have in common with other men.”

“What does that mean?”

“I’ll probably die a spinster.”

Jacques laughed. “Because you didn’t receive a proposal?”

Embarrassment burned Delilah’s cheeks. “Every ball is the same. They smile and dance with me, but they’re not interested.”

Jacques grabbed her hand, twirling her into his arms as they swayed among the sunflowers. “Then marry me.”

Delilah giggled. “You joke.”

Jacques pulled her closer and whispered into her ear. “I don’t.”

A flutter filled her chest. “Why?”

“Because I’ve loved you for so long.”

“Why tell me now?”

“Because you had to see for yourself they weren’t worthy of you.”

 

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 50: THE SUNFLOWER DANCE

  1. This is wonderful! I love it Vanessa! I honestly think he is the perfect husband for her. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amymorrisjones says:

    The image of the two dancing beneath the sunflowers is beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    A smart man. He makes his move at the right moment. I hope he makes a good husband/boyfriend for her. It seems meant to be. Great writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Uday says:

    Ah, such a heartwarming story! I do think he’ll make a perfect husband 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lorigreer says:

    Intriguing story. I will have to read more! Love the sunflowers! Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  6. luckyjc007 says:

    Lovely story. The relationship sounds very promising. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

