#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 49: CAN’T RUN FROM LOVE

flash fic 49This is for week forty-nine of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

This photo reminds me of the boardwalk at Venice beach. When I trained for my marathon, my running group would run along there every Saturday morning. Have you ever run into a past love?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

CAN’T RUN FROM LOVE (156 words)

Cagney’s lungs burned—a mixture of salty air and her lack of physical endurance. She stopped to catch her breath.

“Squeakers?”

She hated that nickname.

“It’s me. Benton.”

Cagney turned to meet the gaze of hazel eyes with a perfect grin to match perfectly broad shoulders. Of course she knew him. Who could forget your brother’s gorgeous best friend you’d crushed on half your life.

“Hey, I almost didn’t recognize you.” Cagney grinned.

Benton frowned then pulled out a chair at the sidewalk café. “Coffee break?”

Thank goodness. Any excuse to stop running. “I have a minute.” Cagney shrugged.

Drinks were ordered and the reminiscence began.

Cagney laughed. “You used to pull my hair.”

“And scare away your dates—”

“That was you?” Cagney gasped. “I can’t believe I had a crush on you.”

“What?”

Cagney covered her mouth. She couldn’t read Benton’s expression.

Then he smiled. “And all these years I thought you weren’t interested.”

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 49: CAN’T RUN FROM LOVE

  1. LOL! It would be a little awkward telling your brother’s best friend that you have a crush on him. 😀 Cute story Vanessa! I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    It’s fun to reminiscence with old friends. Some things unsaid in the past may have gotten you in a different direction in life. We never know. Wonderful story.

    Like

  3. Alixa says:

    Maybe they’ll have a second chance, now! Lovely story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

