#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 42: THE CHOOSING CEREMONY

flash fic 42This is for week forty-two of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

This is a post I’m behind on, but I enjoy this flash fiction challenge so I’m sure to do them even if I’m late. You can check out my previous post if you’re interested in doing the current week’s prompt and share your flash fiction with the group. I try to keep with my blog theme and write all my flash fiction with a hint of romance, but for this one I feel like it got away. What do you think?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

THE CHOOSING CEREMONY (154 words)

Crystal rushed through the forest, the trunks’ glow transferring onto her robes as she passed. The air buzzed with chatter. Faeries, trolls, witches and the like came far and wide to witness the choosing ceremony. The glen was already full when Crystal arrived, pushing forward to meet her friend.

“It’s about to start,” Layla muttered, her blue hair glimmering in the moonlight.

Prince Dorian stepped onto the dais and spoke the incantation of his ancestors.

“He’s beautiful,” Crystal whispered. Tonight a new apprentice would stand beside him.

Layla giggled. A warlock grumbled something next to them.

“What if it’s you?” Crystal asked.

“Then you should be so lucky to be my friend.”

With Layla’s luck, Crystal wouldn’t doubt her friend had a chance. She could hardly imagine spending every day with Prince Dorian.

“Crystal.”

Crystal shushed Layla. “Everyone can hear you.”

Layla’s eyes widened. “I didn’t say it. He did.”

Crystal had been chosen.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 42: THE CHOOSING CEREMONY

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Ha! Crystal got lucky and Layla should be glad that Crystal is her friend! Enjoyed this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is wonderful Vanessa. Crystal was chosen by the Prince Dorian! I loved the idea of faeries, trolls, witches and the like being at the Choosing Ceremony.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lena Frank says:

    I like all the creatures that filled this world! I sure hope Crystal was chosen for something good though.

    I’m curious about the flash fiction challenge too! Off to go check it out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

