#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 46: OTHERWORLDLY LOVE

flash fic 46This is for week forty-six of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

I’ve never written Fantasy or Science Fiction romance so I thought it’d be fun to play around with that since the prompt made me think of a spaceship. Also I wanted to explore dialogue a little – I find it’s the hardest part of writing for me.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

OTHERWORLDLY LOVE (155 words)

Andromeda slammed the metal door behind her. They were safe—for now.

“It won’t hold them for long,” Halo said, releasing his spacesuit’s helmet.

“Do you always have to be so honest?”

“One of my best qualities.” Halo grinned.

Andromeda snapped off her helmet and checked her ray-gun’s charge. “Not necessarily when aliens are hunting you.”

“I’ve never known you to be afraid.”

Andromeda glared. “I’m not afraid of anything.”

“We’re all afraid of something.” Halo stepped closer. “You may not fear much, but I know what it is.”

Andromeda’s eyes widened, her heart hammered.

“You, dear princess, are afraid of me.”

“Hardly.” She laughed.

“Fine. Then specifically you fear your feelings for me.”

Halo was inches away. Did he mean to kiss her? Their breath mingled, but their lips didn’t touch. Before she could indulge the urge and close the gap, the metal door ripped away and the screech of aliens filled the air.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 46: OTHERWORLDLY LOVE

  1. mandibelle16 says:

    Good one! Exciting and romantic! I hope they are okay!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

