#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 44: WAITING FOR LOVE

flash fic 44

Photo prompt credited to Pixabay

It’s week forty-four of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

Bouncing around with my writing challenges. The holidays have kept me more than busy, but I wanted to get in this weeks challenge before the new one started on Tuesday. I’ll try to get all my flash fiction caught up by this week. Wish me luck!

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

WAITING FOR LOVE (151 words)

Louis rested his bike against the school’s brick wall. 3:02pm. Within minutes Kate would walk out those doors. Students hurried down the front steps, their burgundy uniforms flooding past him. And then he saw her, waves of black hair framing her bronzed skin.

Kate waved goodbye to a friend and walked away from Louis. He waited for the crowd to thin before grabbing his bike and riding up to her.

“Heading home?” Louis asked.

“You’re late.”

“Crowded sidewalk.”

Kate smiled. “Perhaps you should go to school, then we could walk together.”

Louis’ heart fluttered. He had to work for his father, but her encouragement was all he needed to finally ask her out.

“I have something to say,” they both said.

“You first,” Kate said.

“No you,” Louis replied.

“Very well, dear friend.” Kate grinned. “My good news—Will Harris asked me out. Now you.”

“It was nothing,” Louis said, disappointed.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 44: WAITING FOR LOVE

  1. Tiegan says:

    I feel sorry for Louis haha. Poor guy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ashlyn21 says:

    Want to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh, she has broken his heart. ❤ Wonderful story Vanessa! I have a feeling they end up together. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. luckyjc007 says:

    Too bad he was not quick enough…but, he can still ask her out another time. Hopefully, he will get another chance. In my generation the guy always asks the girl and I have thought about how hard that can be sometimes, especially when they dread getting a rejection! I was always glad that I did not have to do the asking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Ah very true. I think it’s more common for women to ask nowadays, but most often men do most of the asking. But that is an interesting thought for a future story, put the girl in his shoes 😉

      Like

  5. Aww, poor guy. There’s still a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

