#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 40: A LOVE TOO LATE

flash fic 40This is for week forty of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

As promised, I caught up and posted week forty. I know you were all waiting so patiently for this post 😉 For me, this was a lovely prompt – which at first I was going to go more literal with the inspiration, but something much more lovely came out.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

A LOVE TOO LATE (154 words)

White posies, white silks, white lace. The sweet hum of the organ filled the air. Antoinette peeked through the curtain, her wedding day before her.

“I’ll see you out there,” Germaine said, touching her arm.

Antoinette nodded. Could she go through with it? She loved Peter, but… “Wait.”

Germaine straightened his tuxedo.

“Thank you for being there. You’re Peter’s best man, but I feel if you hadn’t been there by my side, I’d broken it off—”

Germaine waved his hand. “He loves you. And…you love him. It can’t be any other way.” And then he took his place at the end of the aisle next to Peter.

The organ began, Antoinette took her father’s arm, and she found her hand placed in her future husband’s grasp. Vows were exchanged and tears shed. Antoinette looked up from the ring on her finger and caught Germaine’s eye.

And then he mouthed ‘I love you.’

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 40: A LOVE TOO LATE

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

