What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 37)

sunday post up_37

via Pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Hope your Sunday is going well. I know I’ll be busy today. A family outing to Disneyland while family is in town on this crazy holiday weekend. Wish me luck!

The following excerpt is from a possible WIP I may take up, a young adult contemporary.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting with the first paragraph on page 21. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love….unless you’d like a little critique then mention it in your comments!

Here’s mine :

“You guys were like besties, right?” Hannah’s voice sliced through my thoughts.

My pounding heart crawled into my throat, and I desperately swallowed the bitter detail of my past. I looked away from the students shuffling around us and much to my relief Hannah wasn’t talking to me. My gaze landed on a large pair of hazel eyes lined in iridescent blue liner. A glimmer of distaste crossed the girl’s features before it was replaced with a smile sugar-coated in disdain.

“Yes, we are,” blue eyeliner girl said.

Perry, Petra, Paige. You’d think I’d never forget the girl’s name who replaced me.

Hannah wrinkled her nose at the present tense use of the past tense girl. Then she placed her hand over her heart and pouted her Precious Plum lips—her signature color. “I am so sorry for your loss.”

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 37)

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Life of an El Paso Woman

  2. Jodine says:

    I’m conjuring up another poem. I’ve been contacting all my old contacts, revamping my blogs & websites, learning to do it all via my Android which is harder than expected. I will probably have a glass of wine and sit at my PC & try to figure it all out. Have a great week! Jx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodine says:

    I’m really sorry to keep bugging you but u want to write something for week 41 Flash Fiction? and I can’t for the life of me find where to send my submission? I am literally going around in circles… can you provide me with the how to and where to info? Jx

    Like

  4. Jodine says:

    I want to write I mean…

    Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

