#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 39: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW

flash fic 39

It’s week thirty-nine of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

I’m behind on my flash fiction challenges, but I love writing them so much I write them as my own personal challenge despite missing the link up. This one’s colorful picture reminded me up a new story I’m working on so it’s been great as a character study as well.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW (150 words)

This was it. Breaking every rule, Poppy stepped into the end of the rainbow. When she returned her mother would be furious, but she didn’t care. Something waited for her on the other side. In a swirl of colors, a rush of wind, and the lavender ruffles of her skirt twisted around her, Poppy fell onto a grassy knoll.

“Aye, you’re not supposed to be here.”

Grey skies hung over Poppy’s head and a pair of dark eyes peered down at her.

“Halston,” the boy said, helping her up.

“Where am I?” Poppy stared at the bare trees, their bark drab like the sky.

“Not where you came from.” Halston’s jaw tightened, and then he grabbed her hand. “We have to get you back.”

“I just got here.”

“You can’t stay and you won’t want to.” Halston leaned in causing Poppy’s heart to speed.

Then something howled in the distance.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 39: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Love the ending. A new twist to a rainbow encounter. Lucky for her, Halston was there to warn her.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

