#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 38: A LOVELESS ETERNITY

flash fic 38

It’s week thirty-eight of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

Still catching up on my weekly challenges, but I’m almost there. This is from two weeks ago but if you check out the link above you’ll find the blog for the current flash fiction challenge. This was a fun one. It felt a little dark, but something romantic about it.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

A LOVELESS ETERNITY (158 words)

Laurent’s kiss lingered on Maddy’s lips. How he yearned to stay this way for all of eternity. But with a flap of his wings he swept the Earth and burst into the Heavens.

“It’s been too long,” David said, stretching his wings.

Laurent sighed. “I love her.”

“You can’t—”

“Unless—”

“Laurent, you’ll never be able to come back.”

Laurent sighed, imagine being without Maddy. Her smile, her laugh. He had to do it.

“Where are you going?” David called. “Don’t. You won’t return to Earth in the same form.”

“It doesn’t matter. We love each other. She’ll know it’s me.” With a silent prayer, Laurent awoke on a park bench wingless and full of hope. He sprinted to Maddy’s apartment, his dirty coat flapping.

Maddy opened the door. “Yes?”

“It’s—”

“Oh.” Maddy shoved a warm croissant into Laurent’s filthy hands. “I know you’re homeless, but don’t ever come back.” And then she closed the door.

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 38: A LOVELESS ETERNITY

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Too bad Laurent didn’t listen to David. Now he will have to find a way to start over and win Maddy’s heart back…if possible. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there! Just checking in…great post! How’ve you been, projects? ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Awww thanks. I see you on Twitter, but writing and keeping up with the blog is a lot of work. I’m querying my dragon novel right now, a few requests, rejects, some great feedback. I have a steamy short story romance coming out next month. But other than that I’m struggling with something new. Trying to find something that speaks to me. What about you? You doing Nano? How’s your writing going?

      Liked by 1 person

      • When your short story hits let me know so I can buy it! Very excited for you and congratulations! You will be successful in whichever ave. your muse takes you I have no doubt! I’m redrafting still and working on its sequel. I did finish another mideval romance so that’s on my desk too. Not querying until I find an editor that I can work with consistently. Have a great holiday season and always light, love and luck!

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        You’re so sweet 🙂 And the right editor is everything! Good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, maybe he just needs to clean up, then?

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

