#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 37: IN THE HANDS OF FATE

flash fic 37It’s week thirty-seven of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

Still catching up on my weekly challenges, but I’m almost there. This is from last week’s prompt but if you check out the link above you’ll find the blog for the current flash fiction challenge. This was a fun one. The image is quite dark just in time for Halloween, but I thought I’d take it away to something less spooky. 🙂

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

IN THE HANDS OF FATE (157 words)

Marianna stood before the grand hall entrance, her palms damp with sweat. Numerous folds of red taffeta and delicate crystals fell from her waist, cascading to the velvety floors. The red ball gown was more than she ever could afford, but her stepsister insisted she wear it.

“They’re announcing us,” Penelope snapped, stepping through the doorway and disappearing into the hall with a flourish of baby blue ruffled skirts.

Inhaling deeply, Marianna waltzed into the debutante ball. Gasps filled the room.

A red dress?

Scandalous…

Shameful…

No one will court her…

Mortified, Marianna caught Penelope’s cruel smirk, and then dashed through the nearest door into the courtyard. Tears burned her eyes. Why did she believe her stepsister?

“Excuse me, Miss—”

“You’ve come to laugh at me, too?” Marianna no longer cared.

“Quite the opposite.” The young man smiled. “The fortune teller said ‘a lady in red would capture my heart.’ I’m here to accept my fate.”

Can’t wait to read more? Check out my other flash fiction posts here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 37: IN THE HANDS OF FATE

  1. Oooouuu, I LOVE this! Wonderful story! I have to admit I was surprised when you had not written a story on this photo prompt so I am VERY happy to finally get to read yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    Unknowingly, her stepsister did her a favor. Very enjoyable read. Love the ending! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Three Day Quote Challenge Day 1 | Life of an El Paso Woman

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

