#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 31: CHOICES

flash fic 31It’s week thirty-one of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

A little late this week, but I love to participate in this flash fiction challenge. I struggled a little bit with this one, I like to gear my flash fiction towards romance, but I think I’ve found something that centers on the hard decisions we make in relationships.

Have you ever been forced to make a choice between two loves?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

CHOICES (159 words)

Nothing anyone could do could take Morton away from his horses. This was his grandfather’s farm, and he meant to keep it in the family. Princess, Brownie, Cupid, Jameson—they were his family now since his parents passed. Morton brushed out Brownie’s coat, the simple task warming his heart.

Across the field, Lana walked towards him. When she reached him, he ran his hand along her swollen belly and then kissed her cheek.

“How’s my boy?” Morton asked.

“Good.” She frowned.

“As soon as you’re ready after the baby comes, we’ll get married, I pro—”

“I know,” Lana said. “Mortie, I have to go home.”

“Okay, I’ll take you this weekend.”

“No, my parents want me to stay.”

Morton fed Brownie a carrot. “But the baby…I’m gonna be there. You’ll be back, right?”

Lana bit her lip nervously. “You can stay with us.”

“But the horses…”

Lana touched Morton’s hand. “Think about it.” And then she was gone.

Can’t wait to read more flash fiction? Check out my collection here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 31: CHOICES

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Something tells me the horses come first in that relationship and I guess having both probably isn’t going to work. Too bad for all of them. I enjoyed reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Jessie. Doesn’t look like this marriage will even get off the ground unless she changes her mind and comes back to his way of life. Great story Vanessa! I love your flash fiction stories of romance. Thank you for participating in FFfAW challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emiliopasquale says:

    Love this. It just seems too obvious that neither can give in on this. But the pull of fatherhood is a strong one. At first, I thought Lana was another horse. Sorry, Lana! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

