What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 31)

via pixabay

via pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I thought after Pitch Wars I’d have all this time to fiddle with edits, revisions on my other work, and write something new. But alas I don’t. I decide to pitch in #Pitmad and I was happy to receive two requests from some great agents. So here’s something from one of my archived WIP that I’ll hopefully pick up again. It’s a YA thriller with strong romantic elements, working title CREEPER.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting with the the opening of chapter 2 or chapter 10. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

I walked through my front door and whipped my backpack at the coat rack on the other side of the foyer. It bounced off the wall and took two coats with it on its way down to the floor landing in a heap and sending my German Shepherd scampering for safety.

“Sorry, Denver,” I said, closing the front door. A pair of chocolate eyes peered around the entryway to the living room. The click of his nails tapped across the wood floors as he cautiously approached me. I bent down and ruffled his ears before heading down the hallway. “Tough day, buddy.”

I hadn’t had one of those kinds of days in a long time. Before I’d dated Josh, I had become pretty good at blending in—no one bothered me, but no one paid attention to me either. And I was okay with that. Now everything was different. I hadn’t thought out what a break up with Mr. Big Shot Football Star would mean for me, and it didn’t help that I was pretty much accused of defacing school property with a huge swear word. Since I was an apt pupil with no delinquency record, Mr. Emerson told me the vandalism and altercation with Mr. Parker were more than likely a coincidence, but the look in his eyes said otherwise.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

