#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 30: FOR HIS OWN GOOD

photo credit: Priceless Joy

photo credit: Priceless Joy

It’s week thirty of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

I’m somewhat back to my regular blogging, I got caught up in Pitmad and I’m still unwinding from that madness. Edits, sending requests to agents for my YA fantasy. It’s been a good week for writing, but I’m bit overwhelmed with getting everything else. But I made it before the next flash fiction challenge is up!

Have you ever done something for someone else’s own good, even if it hurt them?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

FOR HIS OWN GOOD (150 words)

The pelt of raindrops hammers the sun roof of the SUV and I close my eyes. Elijah’s breath is hot against my neck, where I lay in the backseat.

“I love you, Chloe,” he says. His hands slip beneath the hem of my shirt, his fingers dancing along my skin.

I draw his lips to mine, relishing in a deep kiss—anything to avoid saying it back. I do love him.

Elijah presses his body into mine and I open my eyes, watching the rain run down the windows. He wants me. And I want him back, but this can’t happen. Not tonight. Not ever.

“Are you okay?”

I look up, he straddles my hips. How long have we stopped making out? I don’t remember. Only the way the rain thrums the vehicle comes to mind. Soothing. Unreal. But this…

“Elijah, it’s over,” I say.

…this is my reality.

Can’t wait to read more flash fiction? Check out my collection here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 30: FOR HIS OWN GOOD

  1. I love how you set up the scene with it raining and Chloe and Elijah being in the back seat of the SUV. I have such a clear image of this. Sad the way it turned out though – at least for Elijah it is. Wonderful story Vanessa! I enjoyed reading it. As always, thank you for participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge. I appreciate your continued support.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    I get the feeling she does care for him, but not quite the same way now. Maybe she should have told him before the heated moment. Enjoyable story…it leaves questions. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

