What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 29)

The river through Stoker's Ridge via pixabay

The river through Stoker’s Ridge
via pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I am ever so impatiently waiting to see if I got into Pitch Wars, so I’m binge-reading some yummy romance. Ok, so I know I said I wasn’t gonna post another excerpt for my YA dragon fantasy I subbed for Pitch Wars, but I wanted to invite potential mentees to also share their work this week whether it’s new WIP or an excerpt from what they subbed.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting with the the second paragraph on page 87. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

The weight of the weapon in my hand calms me, but only to the degree my hands stop shaking. My blood still pounds in my ears. I close my eyes and draw the bow, my elbow sagging under the waning tautness of the bowstring. My fingers work over the string notch and tighten the bowstring. Drawing again, I close my eyes, and the familiar ache in my muscles relishes the feel of a perfect draw. I wish there was an arrow between my fingertips and the smell of fresh air filling my lungs. Without thinking, I visualize a Stoker’s thin skin pulsating over its heart, the beat falling into rhythm with mine.

“Kaliyah.” It speaks to me.

“Kaliyah.”

I open my eyes. Ryu smiles at me as I lower the bow. “I was calling you.”

My face warms and I look at the bow in my hands. Even though imagining a target with your eyes closed is one of the first lessons taught at the Akademie or to any child interested in a beginning archery class taught by the Colony, embarrassment doesn’t elude me—I don’t retaliate either. I must be losing my touch.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

