Synopsis Detestation and Blog-cation

via pixabay

via pixabay

So for the past two to three months I’d given myself some hefty word counts to finish and edit a novel for Pitch Wars. Which I did!!! …I can wipe the sweat from my brow for that one. But my blog has taken a hit on attention, I’ve been doing the bare minimum on keeping up with posts and new followers. So it really wasn’t a blog-cation – I wish I could say I was doing something more fun than cramming 1-2k in words onto a word doc while my children ran rampant destroying my house, lol. But I’m back!

So to start off, I’d like to talk about one of my challenges during Pitch Wars. They ask you to have a synopsis ready in case a mentor asks for one. Sounds easy right, one page of what’s gonna happen in your book from start to finish including all the plot twists and the ending. And you don’t have to be creative about it, no voice, no flowery descriptions. Just facts. Well, I plotted this novel and I wrote a beat sheet for all the major plot points and I still frowned over my keyboard. So if you need help with a synopsis or plan to write one soon, here’s a few links I found helpful. I hope you do too!

1. How to Write a Novel Synopsis: 5 Tips (Guest Post by Chuck Sambuchino)

2. How to Write a 1-page Synopsis

…..Now, for my new followers. Honestly, I haven’t had a chance to skim through my Reader and find new blogs I love and check out those who have taken the time to hit the follow button on my blog. So over the next few weeks I’d like to share the love and link back to a post or blog. If you get the chance, check out these bloggers:

The Ruminations of an Overthinker – some beautiful writing including flash fiction.

Kezia Lubanszky – Just because I too, love Bridget Jones!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in FYI, Giving Back, Just Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Synopsis Detestation and Blog-cation

  1. Akash V says:

    Thank you so much for the mention! It truly gives me more motivation to write regularly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kezia says:

    Thank you fellow Bridget lover! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

