#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 28: I KNOW

Photo credit: Dawn M. Miller

Photo credit: Dawn M. Miller

It’s week twenty-eight of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read others’ posts and be inspired.

I think I’m back on track and will be back to my regular blogging soon. I feel like I’ve missed so much during my hefty writing goals, but the book is finished and the synopsis tucked away. Wish me luck when they announce the mentee list for Pitch Wars and hopefully my manuscript title is on it! Until then enjoy a little young adult southern romance.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

I KNOW (156 words)

“Delilah, wait up!” Adrian called.

Delilah looked at the overpass above where her best friend’s head disappeared. Seconds later he skidded down the rocky embankment, his tattered Converse sending up dust into his black hair.

“Don’t go,” he said.

She walked passed him, the waning summer heat causing her to sweat. “Ain’t nothin’ for me here.”

“Sure there is.” Adrian fell into step with her. “Who cares if yo’ daddy left? An’ no one listens to the girls at school. The same with church, you got all the God you need right in here.” He pointed to his chest.

Delilah snorted and walked faster.

“Besides,” Adrian said, stopping. “I need you here.”

Delilah stopped but didn’t turn around. “Now don’ go sayin’ things you don’ mean. I know liars when I see them.”

“Then turn around.”

Delilah turned and took in Adrian’s gaze. With a grin he said, “And I know love when I see it.”

Can’t wait to read more flash fiction? Check out my collection here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 28: I KNOW

  1. HumaAq says:

    How beautiful and hey wow book finished congrats on that. Wish you all the success 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Creatopath says:

    Sweet story. Congrats on finishing the book. Hope your manuscript gets chosen for Pitch Wars.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ameena k.g says:

    Aww,I definitely enjoyed it and the dialogue between them was perfect! And way to go in completing your book, many many congratulations. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great story Vanessa! It is filled with emotion and the ending was wonderful! Very nicely done – as always! Congratulations on getting your book finished! I too hope you are selected for “Pitch Wars.” So, good luck!! Thank you for participating in FFfAW challenge! I’m always happy to see your story and I love reading them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. luckyjc007 says:

    Wonderful story, and congratulations on finishing your book! Hope your manuscript gets chosen for Pitch Wars.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mandibelle16 says:

    Cute story. Congrats on your book!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. afairymind says:

    A lovely story,. 🙂 Congratulations on the completion of your book.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the sort of seesaw effect you created between what is explicitly and implicitly said. Excellent job with that, the voice, and the feels. Also, great to know you’ve finished writing/editing your book (at least for now :-P) and the synopsis! Lastly, I’m excited for you about PitchWars (I’ll keep you in my thoughts, too)

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

