What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 28)

The icelands where the white dragons reside. via Pixabay

The icelands where the white dragons reside.
via Pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. My submission is in for Pitch Wars, so this will be the last excerpt for my YA dragon fantasy. I’ll have to figure out what I’ll be writing next while await the announcement for who got in as mentees. Wish me luck!!!

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting with the the second paragraph on page 77. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

“You’re supposed to be my partner, you didn’t lift a finger.”

“You’re quite capable on your own.”

I clench my jaw until it feels like my teeth will crumble under the pressure. The only thing keeping me on this spot with my mouth shut is the agreement. Right now, I’d like to show him how capable I am. Xavier lets his arms fall to his side and the mask of authority slips away for a moment. “You surprise me, Bana.”

I don’t trust myself to say anything appropriate, so I don’t speak.

“Captain warned me you were temperamental and impulsive. I don’t see it,” Xavier says. I open my mouth to object, and he shakes his head to stop me. “Let’s keep it that way.” His eyes gleam with a trace of humor, and a small smile finds its way to my lips. He gets me.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 28)

  1. I really enjoyed reading yours, you had me hooked! Here’s mine, it’s from the second book in my Cage of Lies series which I’m currently doing a final😁 edit on. It’s called Linked and it’s a dystopian ya:

    “What’s the plan then?” Luca asked.
    “Wait until it’s dark. I don’t really want to be out in the forest at night but it’s our only chance to get away from them without being seen. I can pull my hands free and untie the two of you, then we run for it,” I whispered.
    I continued to wear at the rope and I could feel it fraying bit by bit. My wrists screamed at me to stop but I bit my tongue against the pain so that I could continue.
    “What if they try to stop us?” Gregor asked.
    “Don’t let them,” I said fiercely. I was starting to think I might actually enjoy making idiots out of these people.

    Thanks for doing such a fun post 😊xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

