What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 27)

The fallen city of Senex photo credit via pixabay

The fallen city of Senex
photo credit via pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’m totally freaking out on this side of the keyboard. Pitch Wars is Monday and I’m scrambling to put the final touches on my manuscript, so I’ve been kind of MIA on the blog front. Whew! I can’t wait until I can hit submit on my submission. Freaking. Out!

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting with the opening of your chapter six or if you like page numbers, page 68. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

“Where were you last night?” Jamari asks, her voice low.

I take a step forward and peer around the back of her head. Today it’s slicked against the sides of her head and wound into a knot at the nape of her neck. I scan the room for the inquisitive eyes of the Militia’s guards, but the two standing on either side of the room stare straight ahead as the  long line of recruits in front of us amble in a slow procession. A few recruits in another line whisper to each other.

“Receiving my punishment.”

“Armory duty?”

“Is it ever anything else?” I don’t know why I don’t elaborate and tell her about Ryu.

“Who do you think you’ll be partnered with?” Jamari risks a glance over her shoulder prompting me to prod her in the back. She stifles a laugh and turns around. If she gets caught she’ll be joining me in the armory restringing bows and mending dragon hide mail armor. “I better get someone good, I don’t want my ass fried by a dragon because my partner has poor aim.”

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 27)

  1. Reblogged this on Ally Bally's Blog and commented:
    A great challenge for a Sunday evening, folks!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

