What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 26)

 via Pixabay

A view of Stoker’s Ridge via Pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’ll be debarking our cruise as this post goes up, a little family fun on the seas 🙂 Love to see what you’ve been working on since later this afternoon I’ll be typing away.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting on the last paragraph of page 60. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

Ryu takes a deep breath and straightens. When he looks at me I avert my eyes and pretend I wasn’t watching him. There’s no room for emotions in the Akademie. The weight of their unfamiliarity in the air makes the distance between us far more intimate than anything I’ve experienced. Looking out into the darkness or at my boots to quell my unease seems like a better option. If I look him in the eye I know I’ll say something the General would say, and right now, my father is the last person I want to be.

“So what about you?”

I glance at him from the corner of my eye. “What about me?”

“Anything, Kaliyah.” Ryu chuckles drawing my gaze to him. “I thought this reserved, tough recruit pretense was an act, but you are in fact like everyone says you are.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?” I turn on him, heat flushing my skin.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 26)

  1. What a great idea! I really enjoyed reading your excerpt. ☺️ I’m currently doing some work on the second book in my series titled Linked, it’s a dystopian ya and here’s the end of page 60: It took my full attention and I frowned in concentration as I spun the knife again. I narrowly missed the fleshy tip of my thumb before switching my grip to spin it back the other way.
    “That’s a very ‘Coal’ thing to do,” Taylor’s voice made me jump and the knife slipped, catching against my finger and making blood pour out instantly.
    I snatched my hand back and the knife thudded softly into the moss at my feet.
    “Dammit,” I cursed and put my finger in my mouth.
    The metallic tang of the blood overwhelmed my tastebuds and I spat on the ground to remove it.
    Xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lilpickmeup says:

    This is a great idea. I would add mine, but feeling too lazy to switch to my other computer to fish it up. For now I just wanted to say this was cute. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

