What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 23)

A view of Stoker's Ridge from the Parselette Forest via Pixabay

A view of Stoker’s Ridge from the Parselette Forest
via Pixabay

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Sorry guys, so late with this post today, usually I schedule it and I’ve been bogged down with some writer’s block. Not so good when you’ve got a deadline. So inspire me today, post your stuff 🙂

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting on the first paragraph of page 40. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

“Extraordinary, isn’t it?” Daskalov says, startling me. I didn’t hear her walk up behind me. It’s unnerving how I allowed my guard to fall around her. Wariness is the only weapon you can trust. Words the General lives by.

“I couldn’t have imagined it, if I hadn’t seen it myself.”

From the corner of my eye she regards me and then returns her gaze to the map. I hope I haven’t said too much. It’s against colony regulation to be outside without orders.

I’ve seen what this map outlines from my view on the mountain ledge, but to see it diagramed, now my view is more than rocks, earth and greenery. The towering sliver in the distance isn’t another mountain range, it’s one of the great structures erected when Senex was a thriving city. A river winds from the plains to the center of the Parselette Forest where a black dot indicates Kepler-Colony-2.

Captain Daskalov’s voice pulls my attention away from the map. “Why don’t you have a seat, Kaliyah.”

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 23)

  1. Wonderful names! I love Kaliyah in particular.

    This is from Dark City, as usual.

    Doc closes his textbook with a thump. “You’re going to get killed.”

    I glance at him. “I know what I’m doing.”

    He shrugs, tucking the book away in a worn gray backpack. “Have it your way.” He stands, hefting the huge bag over one shoulder. He reaches long fingers into the side pocket of his backpack, retrieving a prescription pad. He scribbles on it, then tears the page off and hands it to me.

    “Here’s my number. If Die Hard doesn’t kill you, you’ll undoubtedly need medical attention. Call me. I do more with my degree than just kill people.”

    I smile at the number. A valuable resource. “Thank you.”

    “Be careful if you are using that,” says Dmitri, in his thick Russian accent, as the door closes behind Doc. “Doc and I have a wager on if you live or die.”

    “What did you bet on?”

    He gives me a thin-lipped smile. “Good luck. You will need it.”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. libbycole007 says:

    I find writer’s block actually hits worse when I have a deadline. Nothing like pressure to make your mind go totally blank!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

