#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 21: BECAUSE

photo credit: Vanessa Rodriguez

photo credit: Vanessa Rodriguez

It’s week twenty-one of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. I’m almost late to the party again this week, but I made it. So glad everyone enjoyed my dual POV from last week. I was feeling a bit moody today with my overwhelming agenda this week and weekend, I was sure my piece today would reflect it, but I found a bit of happiness. And I think today my writer’s block will allow my muse in. 🙂

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

BECAUSE (158 words)

A tangle of vines encloses my ankle as I run through the vineyard. I trip onto the cold dirt, swallowed by darkness as clouds cover the moon. Silence, except for my ragged breath.

I can’t do this anymore. I can’t pretend to be his fiancé. “Not when I love you,” I whisper.

“Charlotte?” Damnit.

“James, your father isn’t here to see,” I call from the ground. “You don’t have to pretend you care.”

The moon ducks from its hiding place, revealing mine. His pale blue eyes glisten in the moonlight. “What are you doing down there?”

Keeping the pieces of my breaking heart together. “Go away, please,” I say. Instead he lies among the vines with me. So I sit up. “Then I’ll go because—”

“Because you love me?” James catches my hand. My heart pounds.

“No.” My voice cracks.

“I was sure you did.” His thumb brushes my cheek and he smiles. “Because I love you.”

For more Flash Fiction check out all of my stories.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 21: BECAUSE

  1. WOW! Great story! Appears to be a happy ending after all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. luckyjc007 says:

    Great ending! It’s good that he let her know he was not pretending to love her! Now they can both be Happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely beautifully illustrated…what happens next?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    A happy ending, which Charlotte was evidently not expecting.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

