#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 20: MAYBE

Photo credit: Dawn M. Miller.

Photo credit: Dawn M. Miller.

It’s week twenty of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. I’m almost late to the party again this week, but I made it. I tried something different this week, I’m not sure if it works. But in romance dual Point-of-View is a common way to write, maybe not in flash fiction, so I thought I’d try it out. Especially in the case of missed opportunities for love.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

MAYBE (152 words)

“She’s late,” Thomas muttered under his breath. He leaned against the tree and folded his newspaper to check the time on his watch—ten minutes before lunch was over.

Across the lake a woman with dark hair pulled atop her head walked down the path and settled on a bench. Beautiful. Thomas hurriedly unfolded his paper and snuck a glance over the top of it as she opened her lunch bag.

What was her name? He sighed. Maybe next time he’d ask…maybe.

#

            Sarah watched the blond man across the lake fold his paper and hurry off. He’d been there every day at lunch for a month, the sun glinting off his golden hair, his shirt snug against his broad shoulders. If only she were bold. Her heart fluttered. What would she say? ‘I look forward to lunch every day?’

            She shook her head.  Not today. Maybe tomorrow she’d talk to him…maybe.

For more Flash Fiction check out all of my stories.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 20: MAYBE

  1. Yinglan says:

    I really enjoyed the story. Great choice going with the dual point of view.
    It looks like both of them are procrastinators at love but I think one day, they will finally speak to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great story with dual POV’s! I imagine a lot of romances are squelched before they ever get started! Loved your story Vanessa.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. luckyjc007 says:

    Wonderful story and I’m sure this type of thing happens a lot. Too bad they can’t read each other’s mind! It makes me wonder…how many missed opportunities there are in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karthik says:

    Awww. My. God.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

