What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 19)

Kepler

Kepler

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’m in the dragon zone over here at Romance Done Write at 17k. I have a steep daily goal of 1100 words a day and the last few days I haven’t written at all. With family in town and a long weekend in Vegas my writing time has been consumed by pool time. Oops! I’ll be double timing it this week.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting on the last paragraph of page 12. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

“You wanted to speak with me?”

“Yes, but as your father,” he says. I don’t look at him and stare straight ahead. There are too many prospects and exceptions being the General’s daughter. One being he can treat me like a soldier among my peers and afterwards I’m supposed to switch roles and be his daughter again. I’m no longer five, the days of make-believe are over.

“What would your mother say?” my father asks when I don’t speak. I cross my arms in front of me and finally look at him.

“You can’t play that card anymore. It hasn’t worked in three blue moons,” I say. His cobalt eyes study me. Even though we stand in shadows I know they’re blue—blue like mine. “Besides I was three when she died, so I don’t remember what she’d say.” That’s a lie. I remember fragments of my mother. The way her hair fell around her face or the smell of dragonberry juice on her fingers during harvest time.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 19)

  1. SD Gates says:

    Still thinking about stuff. I don’t have a page 12 – yet!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! (Jealous of your weekend in Vegas btw!!) Here is an excerpt from page 12 of my WIP- titled: Silenced Memories (Romance Suspense).

    Kate rubbed her hand over her cheek, wondering if she was blushing at Julia’s flattering words. She was not insecure about her own appearance, but come on—Michael Maddox, known for his looks, among other things … was voted sexiest businessman in Manhattan, for Christ’s sake. “Ah, thanks?” Kate replied, not really sure how to join in the joke.

    “Come on. Let’s get some coffee. We can brainstorm some ideas and make a plan that will win Michael over.”

    Kate nodded, but was unsure if another dose of caffeine would be good for her nerves. Somehow she would have to perform two miracles. Make Michael attend his own event . . . and not turn into a complete idiot when she was in his presence.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would also like to know what happens on page 13 of your book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

