#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 18: HAPPENSTANCE

Happenstance photo credit: pricelessjoy

Happenstance
photo credit: pricelessjoy

It’s week eighteen of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. I’m a little heavy on the word count this week, but I still made it. What if you only had one chance?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

HAPPENSTANCE (170 words)

I can’t stop thinking of him. When I gaze out the manor window he’s there. The stable hand. No name. Just dark hair and broad shoulders, the summer sun upon his back.

“Lydia, fetch me apples from the orchard.”

I courtesy to my mistress and take my basket into the sweltering heat, perspiration moistens my skin. I reach for an apple, then two.

“Let me help you.”

His eyes are like copper, bright with secret thoughts. He plucks the fruit from above my head. I don’t hide my attraction, my lips part. He smiles. Sweet desire.

He places the apples in my basket, our hands brush. Skin tingles. Heart races. Breath catches. Then the sound of horses neighing near the stables.

“I should go,” he says.

When will we meet like this again? I grab his arm as he pulls away and I’m in his arms. I press my lips to his and he hesitates before our mouths consume each other. How will I ever stop thinking of him now?

For more Flash Fiction check out all of my stories.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 18: HAPPENSTANCE

  1. Nice romantic story Vanessa! He certainly got under her skin. Of course he did it on purpose. LOL!

    Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

