#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 17: THE AQUARIUM

Photo credit: Sonya @ 100 words

Photo credit: Sonya @ 100 words

It’s week seventeen of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. Can the worst day ever get any worse or is the only thing it can do is get better?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

THE AQUARIUM (150 words)

Worst. Day. Ever.

Even the fish in the Reef Exhibit look like they’re having a better day than me. I’d spilt cranberry juice on my white sweater on the way to school this morning, had a pop quiz in Econ, which I failed, hit in the head with a basketball during gym class, and my day wasn’t even over yet.

“Julie, he’s an idiot for breaking up with you,” Shay says to me.

Oh, and Nick thought it’d be better to break up now instead of when we went off to college. Four months away. On opposite ends of the country. Jerk.

I stop in front of a large tank, colorful fish swim off as two exhibit divers sink to the bottom in front of me. One holds a folded poster board and opens it up.

Black letters mar the white background: “Julie, I’m sorry. Forgive me?”

I gasp. Best. Day. Ever.

For more Flash Fiction check out all of my stories.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 17: THE AQUARIUM

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Love this story…typical day gone horribly wrong, then has a sudden turn for the best! I can relate…I’ve been there before, as I’m sure others have as well. 😐

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it! Great way to make the worst day ever into the best day ever. Love your imagination Vanessa.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    Very cute. I hope they get the college thing all sorted out now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Creatopath says:

    Great ending. She needed a bit of cheering up!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

