What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 17)

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’m in the dragon zone over here at Romance Done Write at 8k. And like I mentioned last week I definitely made some changes. I have a steep daily goal of 1000-1300 words a day, cross your fingers I can do it! Here’s what’s going on.

Red Stoker public domain via pixabay

Red Stoker
public domain via pixabay

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words starting on the first paragraph on p. 4. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

“I don’t know why I said that.”

“I do,” Jamari says. I look up at her. The way the sides of her black hair are slicked against her head so the middle sticks up straight in a fan of spikes, like the sharp spines that run from head to tail of a black horn-ridged Stoker, gives her another four inches on her already towering frame. “His I-don’t-give-a-dragon’s-balls-about-anything attitude makes me want to feed him to the dragons myself. So I get your frustration. Besides, nothing good ever came out of The Flats anyway,” she says with a shrug.

I frown. “That’s not true. You’re from The Flats and your instincts are better than half of the recruits graduating this year.”

“I wasn’t talking about myself, Bana.” Jamari addresses me by recruit protocol and winks. I shake my head as I give a low chuckle, the way it fills my chest is unfamiliar. The Akademie doesn’t frown upon laughter, but it isn’t encouraged either.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 17)

  1. AuthorWM says:

    Interesting. I’m curious to read more of your story! Here’s what I’m working on:

    Storm-Fallen (available on Wattpad)
    Science fiction and Fantasy

    Excerpt from page 4:
    Nevesa came upon a small family, walking in the same direction. Two hatchlings–one was a kren and the other a krena–still young enough to have tails, were gallivanting ahead of their parents and yelling in thrilled voices.
    “The Separator is so cool! I wonder if we’ll see him today,” the kren hatchling said.
    “He’s not as cool as Runa!” his sister insisted.
    “She’s not even Krenon, how could she be cooler?”
    “Just because she’s from beyond the sky doesn’t mean she’s not one of us.” The two hatchlings continued their banter but Nevesa stopped listening.
    The Separator was the kren she searched for, and he was here in the city. But why were these hatchlings throwing his name around so casually? The green-skinned parents continued to display smiles as their young ones admired a killer. Her cheeks flushed with hot anger and all she wanted was to throw off her hood in hopes of cooling down, but she resisted. There was no need to attract any unwanted attention as some still kept to the old ways, their deep-seated hatred of other kin still prevalent enough to stir up trouble. That was the last thing she wanted to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am on vacation now & do not have my current WIP with me- but just wanted to thank you for doing this- great idea!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the description of the hair! The last sentence makes me kind of sad, though. And a little worried about what kind of place the Akademie is.

    Here’s my excerpt, from Dark City, as usual.

    “Thank god you’re here.” Asher says, grinning. He’s not a handsome man, except when he smiles, a crooked curve of his mouth beneath a nose sharp and flat as a sundial. “I know you were suspended from school, man, but I didn’t think you were suspended from life.”

    I smile back. It’s good to see him again. “I thought it was best to let things cool down for a while.”

    He shrugs. “Nobody cares. Calvin was an asshole anyway.”

    “Good.”

    “I brought your money.” He reaches into his pocket and pulls out a wad of hundreds. I tuck it away without counting. Asher can be trusted.

    The only son and legacy of a well-established dynasty, he wears old money like a second skin, diamond cuff-links, a twenty thousand dollar watch. But he’s always up for something exciting, whether it’s dealing drugs for less money than he usually tips the valet or helping me shoplift from upscale department stores.

    Like

  4. married2arod says:

    Thanks. I had this discussion with a fellow writer that ‘mohawk’ was too modern term for my fantasy world, lol. I was like, how am I gonna describe this.
    And Asher sounds like he’s a pretty chill guy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    Sorry for my delay in getting this to you. Here you go, work in progress:
    Would people unfamiliar with the colloquialisms of each other’s culture understand their blog posts?

    Should you use idioms because as a strong writer you should have a “voice”, or should you veer away from them out of fear your readers won’t understand the expressions native to your country?

    Great job! Can you hear my hollers!
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

