Writer’s Resources

Writer's work is never done public domain via pixabay

Writer’s work is never done
public domain via pixabay

So this past week I’ve spent a great deal of time working on my new YA fantasy novel. With all the world building, I’ve had to plot more than I usually do and in the process have come across some great blog posts. I’d like to share them with you. There’s so much writing advice floating around out there it makes it difficult to absorb it all. In the end it’s your writing and you have to do what works for you and your process. But check out these links, I found them helpful.

http://www.helpingwritersbecomeauthors.com/story-structures/ – K.M. Weiland has a new addition to her writer’s blog that breaks down tons of movies using her plot structure. This has really helped me make a list of major plot points to make sure my newest WIP is full of conflict and I’m not just writing in circles.

http://thewritepractice.com/first-page/ – Another really important aspect of writing. The first page. Nowadays you have to hook your readers fast. Not only them but also agents and publishers while trying to get your foot in the door. There’s a list of things every first page should have.

http://www.livewritethrive.com/2012/05/30/five-months-on-the-first-scene/#more-607 – Another great blog that reiterates the importance of the first page and bonus, a checklist you can download.

http://www.malindalo.com/2012/10/five-foundations-of-world-building/ – A fellow writer recommended this one. I’m having a horrible time writing my first fantasy novel, all this world building is a feat in itself. Some basics that’ll help the new fantasy writer and remind the experienced one.

https://mariabergswritinglife.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/a-happy-discovery-free-indirect-discourse-i-was-already-using-it-but-now-i-know-when-and-how-to-use-it-correctly/ – Oh here’s a great post on writing technique. I strive to use this, but as still a novice writer, it’s not always there. This may be a great way to avoid “telling.”

https://conniejjasperson.wordpress.com/2015/05/29/the-harsh-truth-and-cold-comfort/ – And if you’re just needing a little inspiration and motivation. Know writing is no easy task and you can’t please everyone. A great post to live by.

Related posts:

Do you know how to really reblog?

WordPress tags

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in FYI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Writer’s Resources

  1. marialberg says:

    Thank you for including me in this great list. I’m glad you enjoyed my post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on American Writers Exposed and commented:
    This is awesome Vanessa! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. luckyjc007 says:

    Thank you for all the helpful links. πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fantastic list. I definitely marked the first page sites.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Allie Moon says:

    Great post thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

