#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 16: THE PLAN

Flash Fiction Prompt Photo cred: Ellespeth's friend

Flash Fiction Prompt
Photo cred: Ellespeth’s friend

It’s week sixteen of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. Sometimes the best plans are not to make any.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

THE PLAN (148 words)

Sam’s relationship with Hannah had been stressed the past few months. Arguments, tears, silence, distance. Fear that it was over twisted his stomach. He loved her, but could he make her happy?

Hannah walked in front of him along the beach, groups of children ran and laughed around them. Then she stopped, her face in her hands, deep sobs wracked her body.

“Are you hurt? Talk to me,” Sam pleaded. Were these tears her same fears?

“I’m so sorry,” she managed.

“Tell me.” Sam’s heart raced, his stomach churned.

“I’m pregnant.” Silence spanned between them. “But if it’s not what you want…I know this wasn’t part of the plan. I’ve been afraid to tell you for months…that you’d want to…” Tears slid down Hannah’s face.

A smile spread across Sam’s face and he swept her into a hug picking her up off the ground. “I couldn’t be happier.”

For more Flash Fiction check out all of my stories.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 16: THE PLAN

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    Lovely story! Wonderful ending. There are times in our lives when we suffer needlessly because of not getting to the root cause….we delay the dreaded affect it will cause, yet, we are already suffering from it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the ending to this story! I am so happy that Sam is delighted and that Hannah has suffered with it needlessly. This is also a great lesson on how important communication is in relationships. Great story Vanessa! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. afairymind says:

    This is so sweet. 🙂 I’m so glad both of their fears were unfounded. I think they need to work on their communication skills, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    A lovely story which ended so well once the truth was out in the open. All those fears were based on the lack of knowledge regarding how the other person felt. Veru nicely written.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. phylor says:

    As folk’s have said, Hannah and Sam need to learn how to communicate with each other. But, now the fear has turned to something wonderful, perhaps they will come by it more easily.
    Enjoyed the story. Glad it all went fine in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan Langer says:

    I liked how you weaved your scene into the beach background making the boys on the beach secondary to your story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. FleurAG says:

    This story is so heartwarming! If I were Hannah, I’d be afraid to tell the truth too. Maybe Sam wouldn’t like it >_> But, I’m glad this ends with both of them are happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mandibelle16 says:

    I love happy endings, they are the bes!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ellespeth says:

    Yikes! She’s been afraid to tell him for months? That sounds pretty pregnant to me. Hopefully they’ll both feel better now. I like your descriptions of Sam’s feelings and Hannah’s anxiety set against a playful beach scene.
    Ellespeth

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Vanessa! Occasionally I like to stop by and express my gratitude to those who participate in the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers challenge. I really appreciate your continued participation. I look forward each week to reading your story and I know the others do too. Thank you so much for your continued friendship and loyalty!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ameena k.g says:

    Awww, to think she was worried for nothing. Nonetheless, it was a beautiful ending an d it couldn’t be happier 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. loricarlson66 says:

    such a beautiful story and perfect ending! Wonderful use of the prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

