Behind the Scenes Vol: 3 – An Interview with Author Christine Hughes

operation-onenightstand_final2I love reading Young Adult and Romance. My guest today, Christine Hughes, author of OPERATION: ONE-NIGHT STAND (June 2015, Forever Yours) writes both. And she’s got more planned before the year is up!

Falling in love with literature was easy for Christine Hughes. As a child, she was a voracious reader and loved to write. When it came time to go to college at Georgian Court University, choosing a major was easy – English Literature. In 1998, with a Bachelors in English Lit strapped to her hip, she wasn’t sure which avenue to take – until she went back to school and earned her teacher’s certificate and became a middle school English teacher. After nine years teaching others to appreciate literature, Christine decided to take the plunge and write her first novel, TORN – a YA paranormal. The sequel, Darkness Betrayed was released in September 2013 and her third novel, a stand-alone NA Contemporary, was re-released in December 2013. Her next novels, Operation: One-Night Stand and Operation: Foreplay will be released by Forever Romance in 2015.headshot

Vanessa: So tell us a little about the book.

Christine: It’s time to change her sexual karma. Caroline Frost had it all – until her boyfriend banged the super skank intern, and poof! Caroline’s happy little bubble disappeared. Now it’s been six weeks of weeping, a mountain of ice cream, and a permanent buttprint on the couch. Enough is enough. She and her ladybits need an intervention – now.

Enter Operation: One Night Stand: Find a man who is hotness personified and have some much-needed sexy time. The only problem is that Caroline is torn between a flirtatious, well-built guy and the ridiculously hot bartender serving her shots. This was supposed to be all fun and no games, but like the perfect scotch on the rocks, no good fling finishes without a twist . . .

V: I think I’d have a hard time deciding, too. How long did it take you to write this book?

C: I think Operation One Night Stand took 6 months. And then another 6 to write the sequel.

V: Sounds like you’re pretty consistent. What Genre do you write and why?

C: Operation One Night Stand is romance. Romantic comedy. My first true romance. And it took me a minute to come to terms with it. I guess you could say I’m a reluctant romance writer.

V: I started that way too, now I love writing romance. Can you pick a favorite line from your latest work and tell us why this is your favorite?

C: “She wore bedhead like no one else.” It is a quote from the first book describing the main character of the second book. I also LOVE the term “smuggling tarantulas” – you know when a girl isn’t quite groomed for summer and it looks like she’s smuggling tarantulas in her bikini bottoms?

V: Lol, I’m shy, I try not to look. What can you share with other writers were your 1-2 biggest learning experience(s) or surprise(s) throughout the publishing process?

C: That the first draft is not the final draft. Seriously. I had no idea. I mean, yeah I spell checked and revised, edited.. but I had no idea there was so much more. My editorial team at Forever Romance is just amazing at walking me through what I need to know.

V: Do you have a favorite author(s)?

C: Nope. I have a favorite book. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. Amazing.

V: That works, too. What a few things that you’ve not often shared about yourself?

C: I can be very shy when I’m put in a new situation and I have, apparently, perfected the RBF. I don’t mean to be standoffish, honestly. Then again, once you get to know me, you may wish for the quiet chick to reappear.

V: Lol. I’ll keep the interview short 😉 If you could cast your characters in a Hollywood adaptation of your book, who would play your characters?

C: Oh man. Let’s see. I would LOVE Emma Stone to play Melody, maybe Anna Kendrick to play Caroline, and Mae Whitman to play Sarah. As for the guys? I think I need Matt Lauria to play Brian and maybe Tyler Hoechlin to play Ryan. Then again I am in love with the Franco brothers… Dave might make a good Brian.

V: Now just for fun. Chocolate, Coffee or Wine (or any other adult beverage)?

C: Depends on my mood. Favorite beers:  Yeungling beer, Son of a Peach, Blue Moon Harvest Peach, Landshark Favorite wine: Leitz Dragonstone Riesling Other than that, coffee or water.

V: My kind of girl, I love a good beer. What is your favorite meal?

C: That’s’ a tough tossup between pizza a good cheeseburger. I’m from NJ and the pizza here is phenomenal. And I have family members that live in the south that swear by a certain pizza chain  – nothing, NOTHING can hold a candle to NY/NJ pizza. Now a good cheeseburger has just the right about of juice that clings to the bun and needs NO ketchup, mustard or anything. Burger, cheese, a nice soft bun. Oh and both complimented with a Yeungling bottle.

V: Favorite Color?

C: Yellow. I love yellow. I only use it as an accessory. And I don’t think it belongs on cars.

V: Oh, I totally agree. If you were a superhero, what would your name be? What would you wear?

C: I love to dress up but my favorite is jeans, a white v-neck t, baseball hat and my vans. So I would wear that, with a splash of rocking red lipstick. And mascara – never leave home without it. Of course I’d need a cape. Maybe red. Or yellow. You could call me – um… I don’t even know. Captain Comfy Pants? Aren’t I supposed to be creative for a living and the best I can come up with is Captain Comfy Pants? Sheesh.

V: LOL. I’m all about comfort. Can you offer one or two helpful tips for fellow writers?

C: Besides “make sure you have a thick skin”? I received the best advice – and honestly the bit I hold most dear – when I was writing my first novel and I was in touch with Cyn Balog (a fabulous author) and she told me, when I emailed her my finally finished manuscript, “You just went from being an ‘I want to’ to an ‘I did’.” And that is the only advice I can think of – just put pen to paper and do it. Become an “I did”. You’ll never regret it.

Great piece of advice. Finally, so we can all keep tabs on you because I know you have some works in the pipeline. What’s next in your future?

C: The sequel to Operation One Night Stand is titled Operation Foreplay and releases September 1, 2015.

V: Looking forward to it! Thanks for joining us today, Christine. And for our readers, check out all of Christine’s links and an excerpt from her book below.

WHERE TO FIND IT:

Amazon    B&N     KOBO     iTunes

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:
Facebook       Twitter      Google+     Pinterest

Blog    Goodreads     Amazon Author Page     Facebook Street Team

Click on Author Interviews on my homepage if you’d like to be featured on an upcoming post of Behind the Scenes, an author spotlight series.

Excerpt from Operation: One-Night Stand:

I had commandeered the sofa. The beautiful, butter-yellow sofa Sarah had purchased when she first moved to her amazingly spacious two-bedroom apartment almost three years ago now probably had a permanent imprint of my ass. The cushions had become a wasteland overflowing with wads of snotty tissues, and creamy brown stains from my new, aptly named addiction—Pint of Tears—smeared the arm. My trusty sidekick, Mr. Bibbles, a childhood stuffed thing—I wasn’t sure anymore if he ever really was a bear—lay oddly contorted at my side.

For five years, Steven and I dated. Lived together. Worked together. Dreamed together. That was before it all went to shit. That was before I found him in mybed with Betsy the Intern. That was before he figured it was okay to forget about the fact that he was my fiancé. That was before I found myself homeless, refusing to ask my parents for help. I showed up with nothing but a suitcase full of crap—and Mr. Bibbles—at Sarah’s door. I didn’t even have to ask. Within twenty-four hours, my room was decorated, my bed was made, and I was moved in.

For the past six weeks, I’d lived with Sarah. My best friend, my trusty confidant, and, probably, the only person on earth who’d have put up with my shit for as long as she has. Besides the other third of our trio, Mel. My nightly crying fits, my refusal to leave the house for anything other than work, and my newly minted status as Ice Cream Dreams’s most valuable customer wore on my friends.

Every day on the way home from work, before I planted my growing ass on the once beautiful sofa and cried, I stopped at a tiny little ice cream shop called Ice Cream Dreams. They pride themselves on making any ice cream concoction to fit any mood. The first day I walked in, the girl behind the counter took one look at me and Pint of Tears was born. Chocolate on chocolate mixed with chocolate, gummy bears, marshmallow, and peanut butter. It became their best-selling ice cream flavor of the fall. Probably because of me.

Me and my ever-growing, ice-cream-eating, tear-shedding, sofa-arm-smearing ass.

I would silently curse Sarah as she invited me out every Friday. Every Saturday. I would inwardly cringe at the ten pounds I’d gained—while simultaneously thanking my speedy metabolism that it wasn’t more—as I watched from my perch on her butter-yellow sofa, while she left for the gym with yoga mat in hand.

All I needed was a spoon, a pint, and a remote control.

My new life.

Sucked.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

