What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 16)

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Like I promised, all dragons over at Romance Done Write. I’m still debating this whole world-building business and it’s a heck of a lot of work! What I’m about to post may be changed, so enjoy it now 😉Dragons for real! Public domain via pixabay

Dragons for real!
Public domain via pixabay

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and about 100-150 words opening your third chapter. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine :

I should be afraid.

The sirens scream as I sprint through the metal corridor, the lights overhead flicker. The Colony’s power grid must be on overload with the alarm and warning lights flashing. A surge of adrenaline races through my blood and replaces the self-pity I’d allowed to blanket my heart. Never again. I have duties, duties to The Colony which my judgement can’t be clouded by lesser things.

The hallway is devoid of recruits and colonists as the sound of my footfall mingles with the sirens’ ear shattering wail. My heart pulses steady and my breath slightly labored as I pump my arms. I may not be an Academie graduate, but the General will expect me to be there. Wherever there is.

How did a dragon breach the complex, let alone find a place to land among the treacherous mountainside? A Terra, the small earthen dragons which look more like their lizard ancestors, wingless and spike-tailed, wouldn’t trip an alarm of this magnitude.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 16)

  1. This is from Chapter 3 of Rannigan’s Redemption (https://rannigansredemption.wordpress.com/), contemporary adult spicy romance.
    *******
    Michael Rannigan dry gulped three ibuprofen tablets as the car from the service weaved its way through mid-day Manhattan traffic. He couldn’t remember the last time he’d had a hangover. The previous night had been exceptional. At an art gallery opening, he’d met twin flight attendants who matched him drink for drink before going home with him for an extended threesome adventure. I’m too old for this shit. He should have called in sick today. As a partner at Murphy, Rannigan, there was no one to question his absence. But it was his turn representing the firm at the job fair at NYU. Brian Murphy was out of the country on vacation. And James Metheny was recovering from surgery. Tonsils or some shit, Michael mused. Didn’t everyone have their tonsils out when they were five?

    Sure the firm needed new talent. But why did he need to be there? He knew exactly why. Without his presence, John Hemphill would be the senior man there, and that couldn’t happen. Hemphill’s an idiot, he thought.
    *******
    Thanks so much for the opportunity! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Great work you two! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Okay…This girl needs direction, hah! “Defender of the Realms,” Paranormal Romance (Dragon Story-too)

    Goose feathers floated through the midnight air. The soft, white down blanketed the dark, illuminating the space. It looked as though a fairy’s dream erupted into a thousand snowflakes, gliding to the cold stone floor; a winter’s scene on a hot, clammy summer’s night. Wild plumage filled the area similar to a gentle shower, but the intensity grew and soon swirled out of control.
    Thuds and pounding sounds repeated throughout the darkness. The castle stood black at this hour of night. The noise repeated itself over and over until every last cotton case lay empty and thrown neglectfully to the ground. Pheobe threw herself with a miserable huff onto her bed exhausted by her solitary tirade.
    How could my verra own father do this to me?
    It took hours for her to finally fall into a fitful sleep. Her thrashings continued and erratic dreams plagued her, dragging her back to a time of long ago.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love the excitement and of course I’m all about dragons! It sounds like they’re about to face a pretty dangerous foe.

    Here’s mine, an excerpt from Dark City:

    I’m huddled near a large shed with corroded metal siding, ragged and sinister in the dim light. This little dock and the surrounding buildings are all derelict and have been for some time. I’m well hidden in the shadows gathered between two weak industrial light posts.

    This is certainly no place for a luxury yacht like the one currently tethered to the worn and weary dock. I imagine the wealthy playboy standing on the deck of the boat is eager to leave.

    “I had a date, you know,” I whisper to the shadows beside me.

    My father chuckles, appearing as though stepping out of heavy mist. “It’s about damn time.”

    Liked by 2 people

  5. amommasview says:

    Hey that’s a great challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Do we write a post or share it here in the comments?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is from Chapter 3 from Book one of my Trilogy I’m currently working on. This book is called “Losing Myself” (Romance). You can find more sneak peeks on my blog (https://authorsbmazing.wordpress.com/the-liza-trilogy/)
    ……………….

    Britt was outside in the waiting room and did not really know what to say. She couldn’t sleep and decided at one point that she needed to go and be with her friend. Her best friend had just lost both of her parents. And it was the right decision. All she could do was hugging Liza and her brother.

    Britt got a taxi and the three of them drove back to the apartment. It was early morning when they arrived. She made coffee for the three of them and then called Liza’s boss to let him know that her friend would not be at work that day.

    Liza and her brother had only talked a little bit. They both still couldn’t grasp what just happened.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. busy lady says:

    Neat beginning to your story. I will have to come back to your site and write!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

