What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 14)

Sorry for the delay fellow writers, I’ve been dealing with a migraine since yesterday that doesn’t seem to want to go away. I don’t think watching Pitch Perfect 2 with all it’s glee pizzazz helped either. At least I laughed, so there’s always that.

Anyway…time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Still working on this darn novella, but I’m so close, the last chapter is in sight, I’m looking at about 3500 more words to finish it out.

"I take full responsibility" public domain via pixabay

“I take full responsibility”
public domain via pixabay

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and 100-150 words starting on the second paragraph of page 41. I know I have a few non-writers, so you may also post an excerpt from your current blog post-in-progress. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine (very 1st draft of me):

As if sensing he’d have to make the first move, DJ leaned in slow, the time to close the distance between their lips taking longer than Autumn could bear. She pushed her hips into his and a dull groan escaped DJ’s mouth. Instead of his lips meeting hers like she needed, he rested his forehead against her forehead.

“How drunk are you?” He inhaled like he couldn’t get enough of her scent. “You almost fell backward.”

“You only have yourself to blame. I lost count how many bourbons you poured me.”

A small smile stretched across his lips. “I take full responsibility.”

“Good because I might kiss you.” The words tumbled out of her mouth before she could stop them. Maybe she was drunker than she’d thought.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 14)

  1. This is from my new novel Luke & Bella: Two Streets Over. It’s spicy romantic fiction. You can check out the whole thing here: https://lukeandbella.wordpress.com/2014/12/10/the-beginning-2/
    ********
    Bella smiled broadly. “Ailsa, I couldn’t help noticing your rose garden. Could you show it to us?” she asked. The woman blushed again. “I’d be so happy to,” she said.
    The group moved back through the house to the front and out the door, Luke filming steadily. There were roses of different varieties and colors: soft pink, yellow, peach, and red.
    Ailsa touched the flowers lovingly. “I planted these to remind me of my boys,” she said, a small tear making its way down her cheek. “I miss them every day.” Rory stepped up and put his arm around her waist. “But life is good,” she smiled. “We just found out we’re going to have a baby.” Bella beamed at them, then at Luke.
    The group said their goodbyes. Bella promised to send them a copy of the completed episode. Once in the cab, Luke realized that he felt as though he’d been holding his breath the whole time. Relax, Cowboy, he thought to himself. Ailsa’s story gave him new perspective.
    He looked at Bella, saw the triumphant gleam in her eyes, and flashed back to last night’s kiss. She was drunk, stupid, he reminded himself, and he sighed.
    As they rode away from the cottage, Luke turned to Bella. “That was good.”
    “It was fried gold,” she agreed, smiling.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Oh, and thanks for the opportunity to share. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Migraines are horrible- I hope you are feeling better soonest!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Janice Wald says:

    Thank you for this opportunity. This is a draft of an expert interview I am working on. This is a draft of my introduction:
    What is your goal for your blog?

    Is it too get page views? Traffic seems to be most bloggers’ dream.

    Do you have a number in mind? 100 page views a day? 1000 page views a day?

    A blogger, who has been blogging for six years, whom I consider successful, told me if she has 100 page views, she is having a bad day, and if she gets 1000 page views she is having a good day.

    1000 page views?

    On a day I consider “good,” I try to follow the advice I share with my readers. Treat others like you would want to be treated. If you want page views, you should visit others’ blogs and also give them traffic.

    However, many of my readers and I work outside the home. How are we supposed to find time to visit all those people each day and still find time for a job and a personal life?

    Many of my readers write me to explain they are looking for this answer. Someone wrote and told me everyone wants to know how to find time for everything in the course of a day.

    In an attempt to answer the question, I interviewed blogging experts to find out how they balance these tasks.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Oh Dearest, I hope you are better! Misery indeed! Oh,’ by the way your excerpt was HOT! How were you able to put so much into so little?! Great job! … Here is my piece, “Defender of the Realms,” paranormal romance.

    “You will not speak to me?”
    Marcus distraught pleaded with his daughter, but she could not form words.
    Pheobe’s heart lay shattered, his betrayal to her epic. Her father, her protector; he stood larger than life in Pheobe’s eyes. All of those brother’s that plagued her were smaller replicas of a man she adored.
    You are my father. How could you just give me away – and to a wretch of a man – who speaks strangely and is much, much too serious? The oaf perhaps has a series of bastard children and carries disease, no doubt. Mayhap, the scurvy troll will even beat me? Father, – her spirit wept.
    “So be it.” Marcus left the room disheartened and ordered Gena to get Pheobe ready, and to the temple doors by the noon hour. No stalling to take place. His voice tinged with upset and Gena quickly agreed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Thank you! And it’s a clean romance 😉 I must be doing my job. lol.
      My favorite line from yours was ‘All of those brother’s that plagued her were smaller replicas of a man she adored’ It said so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for allowing us to share this excerpt. This piece is from my first short story. It is currently being reviewed and edited.
    The genre is horror fiction and the title… remains to be determined.
    Here it is…
    We were so busy examining our find that neither of us noticed the guillotine in the far corner until we noticed the rancid smell. Now, there is no disguising the smell of dead flesh, especially flesh that has been left dead, un-refrigerated and un-embalmed for way too long. When the odor hit us, the hair stood up on the back of my neck, and as we would discuss the incident later, Kai would report a similar sensation. I was immediately drawn to the corner, and as my eyes adjusted to the lighting in the dark, dank room, I was horrified to see a pair of blank eyes staring up at me from a bucket at the foot of the guillotine.

    I welcome any and all feedback.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I hope you feel better! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great idea Vanessa and thanks for inviting us to share. Here are the suggested paras of p41 from the book I am hoping to publish in the next two months. ‘Isabel’s Choice’ is the first in my ‘The French Connection’ series, (set during the French Revolution). It is a sexy historical romance – has been edited and is currently getting some final tweaks and a cover designed.

    “My Lady, am I correct in understanding you? You would like me to be the father of your children?”
    Her head had been lying against his shoulder, the rough fabric of his coat scratching her cheek while she tentatively waited for his reaction. Yet even she had not expected such directness.
    She raised her head and gasped, reeling at the way his deep French voice made the proposition sound positively decadent.
    “I –” she stammered, backing away from his arms in deep embarrassment. “I – yes – you have understood me. But, it is nothing to do with what I would like. It seems I have little choice.
    “My husband would have foisted one of his footmen on me,” she shuddered, “But that seemed too terrible to contemplate. He told me I could have until the end of the week to choose someone – so I am now throwing myself upon your mercy.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Oh now I wonder who this guy is 😉
      btw when you’re published, if you’re interested I’m adding author spotlights to my blog a couple of times a month. You’ll find a link to the page with all the info and previous posts.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks – I am probably a month or so off publishing ‘Isabel’s Choice’ (and the guy in question is Armand, the linking character in the whole ‘French Connection’ series, a french Comte disguised as a groom). However, I have already e-Published a series of contemporary romances (‘Deception’), and I have registered for a spotlight. Cheers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        I emailed you.

        Like

      • PS – hope your migraine is feeling better. Apart from painkillers, plenty of liquids, a nice hot bath/spa and a gentle massage may help. Good luck! (I had concussion a few weeks ago – visual disturbance/migraine pain, the lot. Migraines are NO FUN!)

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 14) | Emily Arden, author

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

