Part Two The Worrying Wave of Weak Verbs: a cautionary tale of the murderous search for to be, to have, to do, to get, to go and to make

I’ll reblog this primarily for the list of replacement words for weak verbs. But seriously writers, this post has so much great advice on strengthening your writing you’d be doing yourself a disservice to not read it. I am guilty of many of these and I find editing a daunting process. Check it out!

Experience Writing

Action verbs He went down the slide.
He slid. He zipped. He whooshed!

In my last post, I shared an amazing discovery, a  little book full of helpful tips called The Curious Case of the Misplaced Modifier by Bonnie Trenga. At the end of exploring Chapter Seven, you’ll recall I encountered a “there was” problem in my manuscript. After my battle with “there was”, I moved on to Chapter Four: The Delicious Drama of the Weak Verb. Finding specific verbs is important, interesting and sometimes fun, but I didn’t find it delicious.

In Bonnie Trenga’s words:

“Weak verbs are everyday, normal verbs we use all the time. However, they’re often repetitive, passive, wordy, or too general. These verbs frequently fail to clarify the action, and they make readers work too hard.”

Which verb does she start with? You guessed it, our friend “to be”. Along with the battle of “there was” that…

View original post 779 more words

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in FYI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

