What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 13)

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Last week I’d hoped to finish my novella but sometimes life catches up to you and the writing has to take a back seat. So this past week I only got in 1000 words, but this week’s goal is to finish it.

Friendship scene. Not exactly what my MC and her bestie look like, but still fun. Public domain via pixabay.

Friendship scene. Not exactly what my MC and her bestie look like, but still fun.
Public domain via pixabay.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and the first half of page 31 or the beginning of chapter 5 (your choice) of your current work-in-progress. So a good 100-150 words. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

Autumn sprawled out on Val’s bed while her friend searched through her closet. A rotating fan swept back and forth ruffling Autumn’s hair every time it passed. She thought it just pushed hot air around the room more than it cooled off Val’s tiny apartment.

“How can you live in this hot box, it’s like a sauna,” Autumn said, dipping a finger between her cleavage to wipe the forming perspiration.

“You get used to it. How about this one?” Val asked, holding up a black slinky dress. Autumn shook her head no. “Besides, it makes for some hot sweaty sex.” Val wagged her eyebrows.

“Gross, I hope you washed the sheets I’m lying on.”

“You’ll never know,” Val sang. Autumn grimaced. Val held a red halter dress up to her tall, lean frame and asked, “You like?”

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 13)

  1. Chris White says:

    Hello. I’ll be sharing soon. Can’t say there will be any hot sweaty sex. More in the line of warm smelly socks probably. All the best. Kris. 😊
    http://www.the1951club.org
    http://www.awritersden.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I like that! You can really feel the heat, and it’s very sensual. Plus the implication of hot, sweaty sex 😉

    Here’s from my as-yet untitled fantasy novel. It contains swearing.

    And then he turns south, abruptly, where there is no path, and the horse sprints into the sea of dunes. Sand flies golden beneath its hooves, and I hang on to the saddle-horn desperately, certain I’m going to tumble onto the ground at any moment.

    Lio locks an arm around my waist, holding me closer to his body than I’d like, but at least I feel a little more secure.

    “Do you like it?” he murmurs in my ear. “I’ve always thought this is what flying would feel like.”

    “Fuck you,” I say, heart pounding. Despite the rushing of the wind, my response must have reached him, but the only answer is laughter, delighted as a child’s, as we race across the desert.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Reblogged this on American Writers Exposed and commented:
    And while I am re-blogging – This is my favorite Sunday event! How much fun it is when Vanessa shouts out a page number and paragraph of our WIPs or finished manuscripts to share amongst one another. Its a love thing … everyone join the fun! ❤ Jessica

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

