#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 12: ONE SUMMER DAY

Photo credit: Ady

Photo credit: Ady

It’s week twelve of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. Inspiration strikes in the strangest ways, what will Eduardo be inspired to do 😀

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

ONE SUMMER DAY (148 words)

The hum of Eduardo’s voice fills my head. My eyes closed, sweat and sun glistens on my skin. Whoosh. The sound of the water as it rushes passed the paddle. A droplet on my cheek. I open my eyes.

“Ah, sleeping beauty, she awakens.”

“Mmmm, a kiss would’ve been so much better.” I rise.

Full lips smile at me. Olive skin under an open white shirt. Dark eyes shaded beneath waves of hair, darker still.

“Where are we?” My eyes squint at the horizon, the river stretches far in both directions.

Eduardo smiles. My heart beats faster. “I’ve stolen you away.”

Girlish giggles and a smile. “Silly, boy.” A frown mars his face. “Oh, you’re quite serious. But where are we going?” I ask.

The paddle slows, the boat adrift. Water laps. Birds chirp. The sounds of nature and the heaviness of humidity swallow us.

“Marisa, marry me.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 12: ONE SUMMER DAY

  1. Creatopath says:

    Aww, that’s so sweet. Does she say yes??

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I love all the images you describe and how it makes me feel as though I am right there in the story. The ending was wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love happy endings great post

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mandibelle16 says:

    Wow, he seems very set on marrying her, even stealing her away. I hope it’s what she wants and she isn’t stuck

    Liked by 2 people

  5. HumaAq says:

    Wonderful.. Really romantic

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautifully done and still kept open for interpretation and a possible continuation (or is that just my wishful thinking?) Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Interesting. So many questions evoked. Where was she “stolen” from? Does she feel uncomfortable not knowing where she is? Good job making the reader want to know more.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tastyniblets says:

    what a lovely story – beautiful imagery 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. afairymind says:

    Ahh – how romantic! I hope she says ‘yes’. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 13: JUST SAY YES | Romance Done Write

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

