Blog Tour Award

blog-tour-award_wordpressThanks to Rachel at Creatopath for nominating me for the Blog Tour Award (my first award woo-hoo).  Check out her blog as she is a creative person that fills her blog with wonderful, crafty artistic-y (yeah, it’s probably not a word) stuff and writing 🙂

This award involves answering four questions about writing.

Here are the rules:

  • Compose a one-time post on a specific Monday (date given from your nomination – I April 27)
  • Give them the rules and a specific Monday to post by.  My nominees can post on Monday May 4th.
  • Pass the tour on to up to four other bloggers.
  • Answer four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do.

Here are the four questions and my answers . . .

Q.1. What are you working on at the moment?

I am constantly working on something. Honestly, I think I have writer ADD because I can’t seem to stay on one project long enough to finish it. Too many ideas floating around in my head. But I’m determined to make myself complete something, so currently I’m working on a romance novella.

Q.2. How does your work differ from others in your genre?

For my romance I don’t think the love trope is any different, there’s a solid list of them that tend be used in all romances, but I think it’s more the way you tell the story. I like to give my main characters a voice that’s fun and engaging that isn’t typically found in classic romance. I think that’s what drawers readers in to the short stories I’ve read who wouldn’t consider themselves romance readers.

Q.3. Why do you write or create what you do?

I’ve loved books since I was a child. I’m the kid that finished their entire summer reading list before summer was over…or began lol. And even as a child I’d staple sheets of paper together and write a story. My English teachers loved that I’d end up writing pages more than the rest of my peers.

I really can’t stay away from anything creative: art, drawing, crafts, writing, carpentry.. There isn’t enough hours in the day for me to spend on creative outlets.

Q.4. How does your writing/creative process work?

I usually just write. I’m what they call a pantser, some one who just writes by the seat of their pants. I wrote my first book that way (yes a complete manuscript, but poorly written in structure lol. It’s shelved for now until I can muster the courage to dismantle it.)

When I have an idea I tend to plot out major plot points and write from there, discovering things as I go. I think that’s why fantasy and world-building is so hard for me. On my co-written contemporary YA we had to do a scene list otherwise the book would’ve never gotten done – two peoples brains leading the story in different directions. Nowadays, I tend to plot a little more, this helps me write more than a few chapters especially when the high of a new project is gone and I’m stuck leading up to the first major turning point.

Oh and I love Pinterest. Anything to side track myself from the real writing lol. Pinning pictures of what the characters look like, what they’d wear, locations of scenes. It’s fun. I love visual stuff.

Well, that’s enough about me…

I nominate:

By Hook or by Book

Send Sunshine

Jean’s Writing

Fill Your Own Glass

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Just Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blog Tour Award

  1. Congrats a well deserved award.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mnghostt says:

    sweet! congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations and thank you for the nomination!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Creatopath says:

    I enjoyed reading all your answers to the questions Vanessa. That’s great that you can sit down and write write write without having to do much note-taking and I like your idea of using Pinterest to help visualise your characters. What’s the difference between a romance novel and a romance novella?

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Thanks for taking the time and reading all that 🙂 I think most people associate novellas with romance in general but it really comes down to word count. Novellas are defined as short novels or long short stories. Usually from 15-40k words. Novels are usually 45k or more, meeting around 70k for young adult and minimum of 80k for adult.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

