Advance Reader Copy (ARC)

Wow, I don’t know about you but as a newbie writer (newbie in the sense I’ve been writing off and on for years, but taking my writing to the next level, like finishing a manuscript and submitting it for representation/publishing) I find this post a little daunting. We spend so much time working on our writing and getting a yes for our novel that we don’t realize there’s so much beyond that for that bundled 70k to be successful. Thanks and good luck Kristina.

KRISTINA STANLEY

I’m sure everyone knows all about the ARC, but being a newbie, I learned a few things this week.

I learned the ARC is used to garner endorsements that go on both the outside and inside cover of the novel and are used for marketing.

I learned that the ARC gets sent before the final editing and proofreading of the manuscript is complete. Does that make me nervous? You bet, but I guess it’s standard in the industry, so I’ll go with it.

I learned that networking long before you finish your first novel is critical to the publishing journey.

Imajin Books requested I get endorsements from 5 to 7 authors in my genre. Mystery, in case you’re wondering. So I set out to do just that.

How does one find established authors willing to spend their time reading an about-to-be-published-for-the-first-time author’s novel? That’s where networking comes in.

I’ve attended writing conferences, workshops…

View original post 481 more words

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Advance Reader Copy (ARC)

  1. Thanks for the reblog. It put a smile on my face today!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

