What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 10)

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Here I go again, something new, but I’m determined to push through this because I’m writing it as a novella and I’m on a strict writing schedule. Something from the first draft of my clean romance. Be prepared to swoon, “meet-cute.”

Inspired by the title of my novella. Public domain via pixabay

Inspired by the title of my novella.
Public domain via pixabay

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and since I’m feeling adventurous, let’s go with a paragraph or two of your favorite scene. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

“Hard day?” the bartender asked, leaning forward so he didn’t have to raise his voice.

Autumn swallowed hard and mustered a nod. “More like a long day.” She watched him turn his back to her and reach for the Maker’s Mark on the top shelf above the register. Sitting at the bar left her with an eye level glimpse of his jeans stretched across his backside—not that she was complaining about the view. Heat crept into her cheeks and she pulled her gaze away to see if Val had arrived. Where the hell was she?

“A double on me,” the bartender said, pulling Autumn’s attention away from her search and need-to-be-rescued. “You look like you need it.”

“Oh, it’s not necessary. But…” her words trailed off when she turned around. With his elbows on the bar, he was close. Close enough she could smell his rich, spicy cologne mingled in the bar’s smoke and sweat. Close enough she could see the dark stubble on his skin. “…thank you.”

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 10)

  1. A great way to promote other bloggers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, here’s something from my newest release (I start writing the sequel Monday and have no other WIPs yet)
    Caution to the Wind
    Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
    http://www.amazon.com/Caution-Wind-Book-One-Elementals-ebook/dp/B00W5RIL3E

    “Why are you here? How did you get in?” Her voice
    grew stronger. “What do you want with me? Why did you help me?”
    He faced her, eyes obscured by the shadow of his hood. He didn’t answer right away. Instead, he
    took another drink and put the cup aside. His arms crossed over his broad chest.
    “I need your help.” He moved forward but stopped after a single step. “We need your help.”
    Her fingers tightened around the umbrella handle. She eyed him. “Help with what?”
    A small smirk touched his lips. “We’re going to save the world.”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. -A- says:

    Hi there, new to your blog thanks to OM 😛
    I wrote this today:
    DREAD
    (Young Adult, Romance)
    The mood was low, and the beads of sweat hang by the tip of his nose. Under the bridge of his hometown, he sat by the ledge, knees to his chest and head in his arms. The setting sun took its time and was robbing the land of warmth. The creek was loud, but to him only a slight murmur. There was little that could rob his attention, and he was deep in thought about the catastrophe that has happened. His mind was in a constant questioning of the why’s and how’s, but there was little to no direction to his present consciousness.

    Liked by 2 people

    • married2arod says:

      My favorite two genres mashed together, I can’t get enough of either 🙂

      Like

      • -A- says:

        Can you imagine how happy I was when I realised that first time I was going through your blog? Lol I thought to myself, “Finally, an adult like me and we can all be totally into those two genres and be totally acceptable!” 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        Oh I feel your pain. My critique group there are no romance writers and only three of us write YA. So no one gets me. They’re like “knives are flying at the main character’s head and she’s swooning over the guy thinking how much he makes her heart palpitate. She wouldn’t do that.” And I like “oh yes she would” lol

        Like

      • -A- says:

        Lol please recommend your favourite YA books – I would appreciate them a GREAT DEAL

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        I’ll look at my reading list, you like all YA romance or specific sub-genres (contemporary, fantasy, sci-fi..maybe even New Adult?)

        Like

      • -A- says:

        I’ve just read All the bright places – loved it. Eleanor & Park was good. Not sure about the sic-fi but i’m open to new things!

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        Oh I read both of those. Loved Eleanor and Park. I was so mad at All the bright places because it made me cry lol. I love anything by Jennifer Armentrout, YA fantasy and sci-fi with very heavy romance plots and hot, sexy male love interests. Try both the Covenant series and Lux series. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, everyone I’ve recommended that loved it (it’s New adult). Oh I think you’ll love Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Have you tried the popular series like Divergent, the Hunger Games or the Legend Series by Marie Lu? Those are a little more dystopian YA but all have romantic sub-plots. And how about Cassandra Clare? She writes all those demon and angels series, but they also have heavy romantic undertones. Check out their summaries on goodreads or amazon, they’re all pretty good.

        Like

      • -A- says:

        Ahh thank you so much – beautiful disaster looks so interesting. I’ve seen Anna and the French Kiss but never thought to buy it.
        When it comes to the dystopian YA – not quite sure because I’ve seen the films and I’d rather watch them now and read other stories.
        I loved All the bright places – it destroyed me. Have you got any more that made you cry?

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        Then you’ll definitely like Eleanor and Park. Another NA that I think you’ll like and the characters are still in high school is Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. Maybe…I know it’s Over by Kelly Martin. I’ve only started reading more contemporary lately so I don’t have too many recommendations for it. What about If I stay by Gayle Forman?

        Like

      • -A- says:

        (not including yours because I am on it now (checking them out, that is)!

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        Lol. Thanks. I only have short story YA published. I’m working on my full length novel and an adult novella right now.

        Like

      • -A- says:

        How exciting! Wish you all the patience in the world lol How old were you when you decided to start writing as a profession? How did it all happen?(apologies if this the answer is ever since you were little)

        Liked by 1 person

      • married2arod says:

        Lol. Actually it’s only been in the past two years that I’ve decided to really be proactive about my writing, writing every day and putting together something to seek representation. I’ve always enjoyed writing but it wasn’t until I joined my 2nd writer’s critique group that I knew I didn’t want to quit.

        Like

  4. You have a good day too 🙂 And good writing as well! Keep it up 🙂

    Like

  5. Jin Okubo says:

    Will post after work, I think I wrote the most perfect romantic scene a couple weeks ago and that would be nice to share here for my current work in progress which is the sequel to my romance novel Love.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jin Okubo says:

    Reblogged this on Jin Okubo and commented:
    Share something romantic

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jin Okubo says:

    As I promised, what is to follow is the what I think is the most perfect romance scene. This is a scene to the sequel to Love, name still to be chosen. Sorry for the length but I wanted you to get a good taste. The part that starts “Oh my dear” and ends “What can I do…?” is her thought, the italics did not transfer over.

    “Me or the cup?” Kaoru mused completely expecting his usual answer.
    “You my love.” Robert spoke with the full force of his heart. “I have come to the realization that there will be no more second opinions. We will take the time that we have together and be happy. You may have already guessed it as you know me so well, but I met with Greg and Mariam today. I had them come over, which is funny as well, because you said that you bought a painting, I talked to them and well I bought you a museum. Well not bought, but rather I cashed out my savings and well it will be funded long after I am gone. It is for you… it will be open to you twenty four hours a day seven days a week… you can come visit me there. It is for our love that I got it. And as for everything else, well I quit my job, all I want is to spend these days with you. And don’t worry we will go to your great uncle’s party, it is of no concern to me where I am as long as I am with you.”
    Robert had never been so open with her, Kaoru stopped mid-sip. A quivering hand released pressure, slowly, softly, as if the world had slowed a solitary tear fell matching her tea cup. As the cup shattered on the deck her tear followed suit by shattering on her still upheld hand.

    Oh my dear Robert, my beautiful Robert, my precious Robert… you see what you do to me? So much happiness is brought into my life when you are here and now you are sacrificing so much to ensure my happiness and your company until the end of time. I would not, could not, should not allow you to give up so much for me. You crazy… crazy man. I love you… I need you… how I wish that I could go with you. What can I say…? What can I do…?

    “Robert… I… my…” Kaoru, the woman with the IQ, the woman with all the answers, the woman who held the keys to all the games, the woman who had started this adventure now found herself without the language, without the proper words to accept, praise, and give thanks for such a gift. Still her love for this dying man would not let her go quiet. Clearing her throat she continued, “I seem to have broken my cup.”
    Robert had already moved to pick up the broken pieces. When he felt a soft hand stop him. Kaoru fell to her knees, pain, suffering, selfishness, sin were all replaced by love, she knew what it was to love and as her legs bled from where a shard of cup had cut into her shin she held him at bay but in full embrace. “I love you Robert. Do not mind the cup. What you have given me is more than I could ever ask for? It is more than I deserve. What is it about me that warrants such a gift? I who did not know love until you came into my life, I who tested your love with foolishness, I who am not worthy of a man such as you. What did I do? Why do I deserve this happiness? You want to be with me, you want to love me. I love you my Robert. I love you with every fiber of my soul, of my being I love you. I was at the park, I cried, a man… a man told me that tears were needed… it was the painting Robert. You have to know about the painting. Someone captured us… captured our love… two solemn figures, one kneeling, one hovering, taking the light from the scene whilst the other gave of its own light. The wood frame… the frame Robert.”
    “It’s ok Kaoru,” Robert picked her up. Even with his illness he still managed to carry her back inside, leaving the tea on the table, the shatter cup in the place where it had lain, his cup at the spot where his book had been, his book pressing against his back as Kaoru had absent mindedly picked it up to ensure that it came with them. It was after all their book.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Loved everybody’s work! I like it when you tell me randomly what to post. I’m quite wishy-washy. Did you get the link via e-mail for the amazon scout info I sent? Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Here she is, “Defender of the Realms.” Paranormal Romance…

    The stallion beneath Devlin snorted heavily, shifting uncomfortably and cantered sideways. They were not alone. With a firm palm to the steed’s mane, he steadied the animal. Together they waited cautiously. The wind’s calloused fingers caressed him; a shudder of unease coursed throughout his muscular frame, and then from the haunted shadow, deep from the renowned thicket of fools, he appeared.
    An auld man.
    He seemed ancient. His skin set deep with wrinkles. The man’s hair hung long, starkly white, and he approached Devlin with no fear. He held no care. It mattered not Devlin filled the still space with his presence, seating his saddle, a warrior true, tall, and proud. People feared his company, yet this man drew nearer as if he had known him for a century’s time and simply came forth to issue pleasant greetings.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

