Blogging Silence: Blogging is not for the Lazy

Public domain via Pixabay

Public domain via Pixabay

Something I’ve noticed over the past month: if I don’t post for the day or spend time surfing the blog-a-sphere, visits to my blog are nearly non-existent. By no means am I complaining, it’s just something I’ve noticed. I follow a couple of high follower blogs who give advice to new bloggers and what Suzie and Opinionated ManΒ say is so true. Blogs with high volume views don’t happen overnight. They take hours upon hours upon hours…..of time and commitment and also immersing themselves in other’s blogs. Traffic to your blog takes work!

Again I’m not complaining about it, I like the blogging community. I started my blog for several reasons: I wanted to create a follow-ship that enjoyed my blog that one day would turn into a readership for my writing, it’s a place I can post my work so that my computer screen isn’t the only one that sees it πŸ™‚ and truly there are some great writers/bloggers out there. People with entertaining things to say, great writing tips, beautiful photography and great advice and inspiration. Look a little deeper than your own dashboard.

Yes, it is challenging to find the gem among the desert of blogs. 1000 new bloggers join WordPress every day! You have competition for viewers, if you want to think about it that way. I’d started a WordPress blog several years ago and let it fall away, it’s not up anymore but for the longest time I’d get views when I no longer posted on it. Maybe there was an interesting post or picture. I don’t really know why. But the point of noting this is that blogging has changed. The blogging world is over-saturated with bloggers, so many options for readers to choose from. And we live in a world where social media has taken over. Teens today absorb and process stimulusΒ so much faster than we did with multiple social media platforms. Even television programs move faster: fast paced dialogue and speedy scene transitions. All of this to keep minds plugged in before their attention switches to something else. This goes for blogging as well. Can you get a reader’s attention?

Or maybe you don’t care, which is fine. Maybe you could just write, post, and read and follow other bloggers. And enjoy the process. What are your thoughts? Do you experience the same thing when it comes to traffic?

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in FYI, Just Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Blogging Silence: Blogging is not for the Lazy

  1. It’s funny you write this today as my thoughts are quite similar. On the different side of the spectrum a bit though, I do spend hours reading, replying and thoroughly enjoying. What I am finding though is if I have made an effort to respond to posts by liking or even more time by commenting, and said blog offers no response? Why am I to continue a one way relationship? I engage to be engaged and that may be entirely wrong. The beauty of OM is he takes the time to respond, not leave you hanging, wether you agree with what he is saying or not. We all have limitations on time and my oldest daughter reminds me we live in a scrolling world and people may very well like your posts but just keep on scrolling. So for those who have stopped long enough to hit like or offer a word of kindness we should in turn do the same. You are a great blogger, responder and writer, for others, building a relationship is exactly that.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I had the very same thing happen. It definitely makes reads worth it when you can dialogue with the author about content, structure, topic, whatever. It makes for a sweet and functional community.

    Like

  3. Creatopath says:

    I’ve noticed that on the days that I read and comment on other blogs or publish a post I get a lot of views, but on other days the views are quite low. However, there was a month where I didn’t post or comment on other blogs and surprisingly there were still a few views here and there which was nice.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Karen says:

    I feel the same way! When I first started I questioned it a lot, but now I just patiently wait as we all have lives and opinions and read what we choose to. It’s also hard to keep up in the “blog-sphere” when many bloggers follow 1,000 or more people so I try to be fair when it comes to that lol ….I follow about 30 and hardly keep up because I am busy haha. Great post!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. K. Okeh says:

    Another timely article published right. I agree that it is so hard to keep people interested in your blog when there are videos of cats surfing or whatever. So if i get a comment, i always reply even if the person said nothing relevant to the post. Clicking the comment button should be rewarded as it’s not really easy. Nice post.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. alisbooks says:

    I’ve definitely found that interacting with other bloggers makes the biggest impact.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    It is all about what you want and it does take “time” regardless. Nice post and I appreciate the mention with a great blogger such as Suzie. πŸ™‚ -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their post.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Absolutely so…you hit the nail on the head. Consistency is the key where blogging is concerned. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. eslbeth says:

    Reblogged this on Beth's Blog and commented:
    So true, so true…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    KInda ironic that I just made a post that noted, since I was so busy with work (and life), that my blog’s activity dropped down to nothing. As a result no one was looking at my blog either. Just like you, it is something I understand and accept.

    Finally did a post today which also happened to be my 100th post.

    https://justplainolvic.wordpress.com/2015/04/19/busy-really-busy/

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Donna says:

    I know that I always reply to a comment and I try to at least go to the blogs I follow on a daily basis but sometimes life happens and I don’t get to and the emails add up to 1000 and I have a hard time catching up to all of them especially if someone regularly posts a couple times a day. But I enjoy blogging and reading blogs so I try to just do that and enjoy and not stress out so much about catching up to reading the ones I follow and I have to admit there are some who have on a regular basis leave comments and interact with me on my blog and I do pay more attention to those blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Welcome to blogging. Takes a really long time to build up audiences for sure. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sahar says:

    I flip flop. Some days I don’t mind the numbers I get; after all, it’s more a matter of connecting with those who read, which I know I do (the emails I get are amazing!) But on other days, I start wondering if I am putting too much energy into this…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. rebbit7 says:

    I can definitely relate to your post! For me, I learned that it’s optimal to blog every day, or at least consistently. Constantly making them visible to the WordPress community also helps a LOT. I admit, as a full-time student, it’s a challenge, but definitely rewarding at the end of the day!

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Jin Okubo says:

    Reblogged this on Jin Okubo and commented:
    So very true. You must write daily. Something anything that is of interest. AND here is a big AND: like and reblog others. The more you interact the more they interact with you. We are people after all.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Jin Okubo says:

    Interaction leads to success. Mutual success leads to better community. Reblogged and liked. Sometimes a like is not enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I’ve noticed something similar with my blog as well. If I don’t post and comment on other people’s blogs and whatnot, I don’t get any or very little views compared to if I do post and visit other people’s blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Capt Jill says:

    It is a lot of work and very time consuming. I’ve noticed the same thing. I have a really hard time sometimes getting online. I always try to respond to likes and comments but sometimes they just get lost in my email (at the moment I’m a couple of months behind and suppose most of those people have probably forgotten all about me and my blog). I just keep plugging away and posting (and reading/replying) whenever I can.
    In the end, I guess it’s just that you do the best you can with your blog and hope for the best out of your efforts.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. married2arod says:

    Thank you everyone for all the wonderful blogger love. Way to make my Sunday. It’s late for me now, but I hope to peruse everyone’s blog that took the time to comment and follow. πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. luckyotter says:

    Reblogged this on Lucky Otter's Haven and commented:
    I just discovered this blogger who writes about…blogging! I could really relate to this article because I’ve also noticed that if you don’t post for even a day or two, your views drop to next to nothing–even with a high follower count. If you’re a serious blogger you cannot be lazy. You may be able to skip one day or so, but no more than that. The blogosphere just keeps growing and the competition can be stiff. Having a successful blog is hard work, but also a lot of fun if you’re serious about it.
    Of course, not all bloggers blog to be popular. Some people even set their blogs to private as a sort of online journal. Or don’t allow comments. All that is fine, but if you want to increase visibility, I don’t recommend doing those things.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. SD Gates says:

    I just came into the blogging game a couple of months ago. I have to say it has been a most interesting experience. I have bloggers I follow and I am so excited to see a post of theirs because I know it is going to be something different and interesting. I also comment on many blogs when I feel like I have something valid to add to the party. I have found in my posts, people really like ghost stories and they like posts about what is going on in our world, those are the posts that have garnered the most comments. It does take a lot of work to stay in touch with everyone, but it is great fun and I never realized how many really interesting people there are out there. Great post!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Well I blog just to blog, not to get attention or get famous or well known. I do notice I still get traffic and I notice I won’t get as many comments if I don’t blog for a while and then I get into it again and it may be a while before someone leaves a comment again. I have some people following my blog so when make a post, they will see it on their wall or get notified in their email. Plus it would become a chore if you had to do it everyday just for the sake to get well known and to keep your audience so I just do it for myself and I know some people will read which keeps my interest in blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Robin Vansal says:

    I know that IT happens!
    But if you’re lucky you’ll get page-views all the same as on the days you post. And I don’t believe in that Luck!
    Starting a blog is one thing, keeping it is another. I know of many instances when people stop blogging after a month or two!
    But we’re talking about Laziness here and I must say I can’t post everyday because Good Drawings aren’t something which are made everyday. (Oh..I’m not complaining)
    I love to connect with each other. Thanks for the eye-opening post. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Pingback: Link Back Tuesday | Romance Done Write

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

