I was out Paula-Deen-ed: Lemon Bars from Scratch

Lemon bars! Here we go!

Lemon bars! Here we go!

It’s spring and sunny outside and BBQ season is starting up. With a plethora of unused lemons in the backyard, I had to try my hand at a lemon bar recipe that’s been sitting on one of my Lemon Pinterest boards – yes an entire board dedicated to lemon stuff.

Cut and ready for the plate

Cut and ready for the plate

Lemons right off the tree :)

Lemons right off the tree 🙂

I love to bake and the recipe looked easy enough and it being a good ole southern recipe, it has to be good. So I either don’t have the Paula Deen touch or the recipe could call for a little bit more flour. Half of it came out good, but I had to pop it back in the oven because the other half was still to moist to set. Even after an extra fifteen minutes, which browned the outside more than I liked, part of it was soft. I cooled it and added the powered sugar. And despite the messiness, it’s sweet and tasty.

Here’s where I found the recipe.

Me attempting to sift confectioners sugar while taking a picture.

Me attempting to sift confectioners sugar while taking a picture.

Baking away. There's enough butter in there to cause a heart attack.

Baking away. There’s enough butter in there to cause a heart attack.

The crust before it went in the oven.

The crust before it went in the oven.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I was out Paula-Deen-ed: Lemon Bars from Scratch

  1. It certainly looks yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Creatopath says:

    Looks delicious. We are just starting to get some lemons on our tree.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geniewtdbh says:

    You really squeezed the crap out of those lemons…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They look delicious. I made strawberry and blueberry banana muffins tonight and had the same not enough flour issue. You’ve inspired me to try these, I love lemon bars, but I’ve never actually made them.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

