#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 8: MY LAST BREATH

flash fic 8It’s week eight of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired.

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

MY LAST BREATH (141 words)

I don’t have much time left. My limbs heavy. The humidity damp on my skin. Warm summer breeze ruffles my gray hair as I sit on our front porch. One thing left to do—I have to tell him.

Dean takes my hand. Calluses, decades after he’s handled a hammer, scratch my thin skin. His milky blue eyes on mine. A lingering smile.

I take a labored breath and Dean squeezes my hand harder. It’s comforting.

“Dean…” What will he think?

“I love you, Mary-Anne,” he says. My heart breaks.

“…you weren’t the only man I ever loved…”

Dean looks down, his hold loosens. Weightless—my burden lifted.

“Years ago, you were gone so often,” I whisper.

He nods. “I know.”

My heart stutters. A tear falls. And he loved me still.

“And you weren’t the only woman I ever loved.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 8: MY LAST BREATH

  1. Wow, what a surprise ending! Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely an interesting ending, makes me wish it were longer!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well I guess everyone has made their confessions!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Creatopath says:

    Great twist at the end. I enjoyed their tense conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ameena k.g says:

    Wow, to think they all had been holding a secret. But alls well that ends well. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ellespeth says:

    So true, so often. It’s a good take on the topic of monogamy and does it really matter. Really liked this piece.
    Ellespeth

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

