What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 8)

Is this not the most awesome dragon picture yet? (public domain via pixabay)

Is this not the most awesome dragon picture yet? (public domain via pixabay)

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’ll be out all day with the Easter holiday, but I had to make sure I threw in one post this morning. I’m still making way on my new project, just need to find time to do a little research and keep my fingers on the keyboard. The excerpt I’ve chosen for this week is from a YA fantasy novel with strong romantic elements about dragons. I even bought myself an inspirational dragon stuffed animal to look at while I write.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and your 2nd paragraph on page 21. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

A warm flush overcomes my body by his close proximity and I’m tempted to melt into him. Pathetic girl. Instead I pull his arms to my chest so he hugs me tighter and use my height to my advantage. With my hips lower than his I can use my weight as leverage. I bend over and drop to one knee pulling his body over mine until I’ve flipped him onto his back. Ryu hits the metal floor hard and although I know it hurt, he scrambles off the ground, both of us crouched ready to attack again.

“Impressive.” A small smile touches his lips. “But I won’t tell you that again.”

“I’ll take it as a compliment. I have a feeling it won’t be your last.”

Ryu grins. My heart speeds up and I know the thrill of beating him isn’t the only thing fueling it. I’m playing with fire. Jamari would kick my ass if she saw me flirt with him.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 8)

  1. Oh, I love a sexy sparring scene! Great back and forth, too.

    I hope I’m not too late for this…yesterday was so crazy. Anyway, here’s an excerpt from Dark City, literary fiction.

    “You need to trust me,” Jude says. “I’m the one who cleared out the thugs shaking you down. I’m the one who got rid of that undercover cop. You know I look out for my people.”

    The man nods. “Name’s Ginny. Works in a pharmacy down on Bayside. Cute li’l thing, but she was fuckin’ pissed ’bout this. I tole her, what can we do? The big ‘cats don’t give a fuck ’bout the little guy.”

    “I do,” Jude says. “And I’m going to figure this out. Thank you for helping me.” He pulls a wad of cash out of his front pocket and peels off three twenty dollar bills, setting them on the table.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

