Show or Tell: Write the Right Way

pixabay public domain

pixabay public domain

This is not your typical kindergarten school assignment….

Many writers have heard the words “show, don’t tell” but what does that really mean? How do we know that we’ve written something that does just that? Surely, I’ve been guilty of such writer-faux-pas especially in my early years of writing and although I can pick it out a little easier now there are plenty of times the telling finds its way into my work.

A writer friend of mine recommended a post on Vine Leaves Literary Journal that addresses how to write yourself out of telling. There’s some great pointers and a walk-through exercise by Sheila Bender. Check it out and give it a try. I know I will!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in FYI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Show or Tell: Write the Right Way

  1. Thanks for the suggestion. I will definitely check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

